The Tailors Craft Reloaded

in #esteem6 years ago

My journey to the fashion world is ever becoming captivating and interesting. Few days ago I visited an old friend who happened to be a fashion designer. She was trying to fix a simple jean gown.
image
Filled with curiousity I started asking her questions on how to design a simple jean gown as I always wondered the artistry behind the denim jeans. I got a vivid description of how to make one such gown which I want to share with you. I tried the design on a pattern paper and it looked wow.

At first I folded the fabrics into 4 equal parts, using the biggest part to represent the hips I have to make sure that the folded part contained the design measurement. I took my measurement starting from my shoulder, then took the measurement of my arm circumference. I now proceeded to the neck region that falls with the shoulder measurement.

I made markings on the material using a chalk and I cut to design following the shape. I made sure the design was following the pattern I marked. The front neck opening and back neck opening are not shaped together, they are shaped separately. Any mistake during the cutting of the material can render the cloth in usable. The pieces can be join together using a sewing machine. If the dress is to have a sleeve, you can cut the sleeve from another material.
Joining the fabrics together is one technical part to be aware of. The fabrics is usually done by turning to cover the rough edges. The should is joined first followed by the body pieces, you can fold the sleeves and the end of the gown after joining. You can also add a simple design on the front using stones that are ironed to the surface for beautification.

Simple designs like this are just for beginners. More advance processes can be employed as the design becomes more complex.
image

Sort:  

Better. Now you should source the images. ☺

Duely noted. Thanks

Congratulations @chinazoronuorah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61