The feel of flying

in #esteem6 years ago

image

It was fun and my heart was fluttering with happiness like a kid who explored something very new. The child in me couldn't wait to share it with her peers.Yes I had this experience in my late 20s :) .

To provide a background about myself

Being a kid in middle class indian family my idea and attachment with aeroplanes was limited to waving at them thinking the commuters would wave at us one day. I know childhood innocence at its best.

Now the journey.

Though it was a dream to travel by air, whenever it came to real situation mixed feelings involving fear of traveling alone overpowered anxiety and happiness.Before flying for the first time I had always avoided a chance to fly alone. But this time I was with my best friends so I was comfortable (I behave weird and become very uncomfortable in social situations). It was planned long before as it was an official trip. Finally the day of trip arrived and we departed for our destination. I was filled with emotions and zealous with overexcitment and trying to hide it (as I was the senior in our group and seniors are supposed to be matured :P). All the processes of check-in were taking time but ADDING TO my anxiety. When I got my ticket and found out it's an aisle seat and not the window seat I was little sad (but my friend got a window seat). I must add throughout this in the back of my mind Zakir Khan's stand up punchlines relating to this were playing and I was smiling but ensured that I wouldn't look mad. When we went to our seat my friend offered to exchange her window seat with me and I was chuckling with happiness. I was looking outside and at that moment I was really happy like a kid who dreamt of this happening and was elated with this experience.

Rest of the journey was good with a combination of reading the novel i was carrying with me and listening to music playing around me(Malayalam which I do not know a single word of) and in between appreciating the view outside and lot of giggling when my friends were busy. :)

Sort:  

Your experience echoes with something really deep. I wish you the best !
I am interested to know what novel you were reading ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68