Steemit Relative Earnings Report (June 2018)

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

A couple months ago I made a post about Absolute vs Relative Steemit Earnings and how Thinking in Probabilities is something more minnows should do when it comes down to their overall Earnings on Steemit. To continue on the topic I started a monthly series where I break down my Relative Earnings with the idea to have to have others do the same over time.


june steemit.jpg

On the 7th of last month (since payouts are done 7 days after making a post), I took a snapshot of my account and a snapshot just now exactly a month later . I have not yet done a sigle power down since joining Steemit about a year ago. 200SP was transferred during the month to my @minnowshares account which is part of a support group I'm setting up.

7 June 2018
STEEM 244.591
STEEM POWER 5418.637
SBD 8.484
SAVINGS 0 SBD
REPUTATION 59.84
FOLLOWERS 1447

7 July 2018
STEEM 300.458 STEEM (-200 STEEM)
STEEM POWER 5499.415
SBD 1.017
SAVINGS 0 SBD
REPUTATION 60.47
FOLLOWERS 1535

7 June = 5663.228 STEEM + 6.1389 STEEM (8.484 SBD / 1.382) = 5669.367 STEEM
7 July= 5799.963 STEEM + 0.836 STEEM (1.017 SBD / 1.216) = 5800.799 STEEM

5800.799 STEEM / 5669.367 STEEM = +2.32%
2.30%-0.75% Inflation = +1.57% Account Growth (+131.432 STEEM)

The month of June was pretty bad numbers wise compared to previous months which saw a +2.69% account growth (+1.57% now equals a -40% decrease this month) and I see multiple reasons...

Free Upvotes
One of the reasons it gets much harder to grow your account in percentage when having quite some SP is that you always have to rely on getting bigger upvotes compared to your own upvote. Unless you are lucky to get some whale support this mainly comes from upvotes given by busy.org | utopian.io | dtube | esteem | steempress.io | (sbcbot) | ...

Being rewarded with a daily busy.pay upvote that is worth around 0.60$ makes a huge difference. Their service being down for some time during last month definitely was a factor in this months earnings decrease. I have also taken a look and tried out esteem and their upvotes really do make a difference but they are quite random and 10% of the post earnings are going to them.

Group Upvotes
Being part of groups also makes up a large part of my regular post earnings and they seem to have decreased a lot in value to a point where I feel like i'm supporting them instead of the other way around. I have been getting daily upvotes from Qurator, make-a-whale, steembasicincome & jumbot.

Qurator = 0.35$ upvote in return for 300SP Leased and daily 0.05$ upvote to them. (This actually costs me around 0.07$ on a daily basis). Same thing goes for make-a-whale (0.30$ upvote) and I'm actually considering removing my delegated SP to them.

Setting up @upvoteshares | @minnowshares
Because the actual returns of current upvote groups are quite disappointing, I set out to create my own which has taken quite some of last months earnings. I created a couple account which asked some initial delegation, since undelegating takes 7 days of noit being able to use the SP it decreased my overall voting power. I also delegated 270SP to the @upvoteshares account and had saved up liquid STEEM in my account to fund these projects. Everything seems to work though and the accounts have been spreading around upvotes the past 25 days.

Missed Posts Early in the month
I did not get at least 1 daily post out during the first weeks of the month which cost me the busy upvote along with all the group upvotes on those days. With the world cup and the SBC League along with the @blocktrades world cup contest posts I had more posts that usual. Many auto-upvotes I get still use steemvoter which does not have an option to set a maximum of 1 upvote each day. This was one of the reasons I switched to steemauto. I don't want to give the impression of wanting to abuse the steemvoter upvotes I get but at the same time don't want hold back on posting something because of it. It would be nice if steemvoter could implement this feature or if more switched to steemauto.

Steem Price Decrease
While this should not really have an impact on the relative earnings, I did tripple up the upvote % on comments to be sure that it's above the dust threshold. This along with being more active on steemit upvoting with bigger % left my voting power a lot lower which means less votes got sold with a much lower return as a result. I really dislike this system how more proper behavior gets somewhat punished.



I do enjoy Steemit for what it and maximising my short term earnings is not really my top priority, otherwise I would have a much more scammy / greedy approach to everything. I do care about the earnings though and it honestly gets more and more difficult to justify all the time i'm putting into it since it takes away from doing things that are way more productive and profitable. I am getting close to being a year on Steemit and can very much relate to what @buggedout wrote in his 1 year steemit Journey. One of the major advantages Steemit has for me is that most of what I post has a function aside from the post earnings. This account will help me again staying sharp during the belgain Season and my secondary account @byebyehamburgers really helps me grow and keep up a healthy lifestyle. If anything I would limit my steemit activity to those things over time.


MonthSPTotal EarningsGrowthFollowers
June 20185499 SP+131.432 STEEM+1.57%1535
May 20185418 SP+188.571 STEEM+2.69%1447
April 20185315 SP+180.723 STEEM+2.69%1202
March 2018

Thanks to @stimp1024 | @maarnio | @beat-the-bookies | @marcusbraeburn for the Contest earnings that I received last month !


If anyone tracked their own account growth this month, please make sure to mention your results below in the comments!
Sort:  
MonthAccountSPRepFollowers
June@jlordc24659.2
July@jlordc36060.42801
Growth@jlordc+114+1.22-

This was taken 10 days ago as I take my monthly progress every 28th.

My goal right now is to have at least +100SP per month. Although not really sure if I can make it this month considering I am now mostly relying on votes from esteem and Steempress(and they take 10-15% so using bid-bots is clearly a guaranteed loss).

It's also sad seeing one of the selfless whales go, pharesim who is trailing the minnowsupport bot with around $0.2-$0.3 upvote worth. Qurator and make-a-whale's votes which used to be around $1 is now only $0.3 as you said. As someone who relies mostly on this guaranteed daily upvotes thing, it have been a rough month.

With the Decrease in Steem Price, my upvote which used to be close to $0.2 is now barely hanging at $0.1. I literally have to double the weight of my upvotes on comments now to go above the threshold. Lol

Here's me hoping that the price of Steem at least makes it to $2=$2.5 this month!!!

Let me give you a full upvote to have a great start for July 😁

Thanks Peter, congrats for crushing it again yourself last month growing your SP with +45.8% !


**** I notice now that the growth in followers did not only slow down dramatically for me this month (based on what I tracked in last months post)

@Costanza: +20% may | +6% June
@Fullcoverbetting: +64% May |+9.6% June
@Beat-the-bookies: +96% May | +11% June
@abh12345: +6.5% May | +3.4% June
@jlordc: +43% May | +7.5% June

Steemit should be more about gathering audience to whatever you have to say. This "traffic" can be converted to direct sales, affiliates, word of mouth promo ...

Money from posts should be just some kind of supplement or reward for those who post "non-business" content.
Anyway, It's getting hard to shine through tons of trending shitposts being upvoted by bots.

In May there were a lot of bot accounts created! After each post, you easily would have gained 15 new followers. I do like this situation more!

TimeAccountSPREPFollowers
May 7@beat-the-bookies56.152 SP48.74210
June 7@beat-the-bookies89.921 SP51.68413
July 8@bet-the-bookies140.365 SP53.86459
Growth@beat-the-bookies+50.444 SP+2.18+46
--[+56.09%]--

Nice to see you continue to grow Sasha !
On to 200SP by next month

You are welcome and thank you for participating Costanza.

Here's my penny's worth for what it's worth; I'm a little bit too new to steemit to understand most of what you've said, but I'm sure I would agree with you if I did...

wow...very much earning yaar.....nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97