Friendship is nothing but a collection of heart ♥

in #esteem6 years ago

Now you see a lot of mega structures in Sylhet. During my time the only mega structure of Sylhet was the Keane Bridge. A campus in a peaceful city, almost similar to my hometown Chittagong. An education friendly environment with very friendly teachers. Some of them were the renowned physicians of the country. You know there were only 8 government medical colleges throughout the country.

But I must say, some things still remains the same. The martyr Dr. Shamsuddin Hostel , Abu Sina hostel and the cultural programs. I had experienced so many cultural programs in my 5 years of life including the celebration after getting GMC recognition. I worked in backstages in 16 of the, so I could not enjoy fully. But the pleasure you get when everyone asks who was the mind behind decoration, that pleasure is heavenly. In 1984-85, the journey of 1st year had begun in room number 1017 of Abu Sina Hostel; one of the biggest rooms of the hostel. Roommate Ujjal Dhar (later joined ICDDR,B, currently in USA) was a cultural minded person. I followed him in the realms of art. The vast room and the royal appearance of Abu Sina hostel made me live there for four years. Ujjal took me to Protibeshi Theatre group, I was specially involved in stage decoration.
At that time, Dr. Naimul Shammi had given me the responsibility to design the wall magazine of Bangladesh Student League name “Sopan”. Shammi vai unfortunately left us while going through an angiogram in 2016.
Now let me tell you the story of how a Shahid Minar in the campus became a reality. It was almost the end of my M.B.B.S. course. A ladies hostel had just been inaugurated in the campus. The project officer was purely an honest person. He informed the college that sixty eight thousand taka had survived even after completing the ladies hostel and he wanted construct any other thing with the remaining money. The college authority formed a commitee along with students of the then Chatro Sangsad. The committee found that there was no Shahid Minar in the campus and decided to build one. My batchmate Zohirul Islam Shakil was the vice president of Chatro Sangsad that time. For his advise, the authority had given me the task to design the Shahid Minar in 1990/91. I had some juniors who were so attached that they would always help me.
I would specially like to mention Bipas Khisa who is working as an UH&FPO in Rangamati and Forhad Hossain Nisho who is currently in Canada.
While making the design I had bear in mind the sole concept of all our Shahid Minar’s country wide that resembles mother, son, family. Again I thought the even the pen has a motherly meaning. We all have learnt ABC’s from our mothers. So I drew a pen as you can see now. And the red ring you now see on top of the pen is meant to be the sun. And the geometrical shapes surrounding the structures represents science as we study it. In my plan there were series of green trees behind the Shahid Minar so that it would give a red and green aura. But as I have mentioned earlier, I was almost at the end of my course and I completed my internship from Chittagong Medical College, so I was absent during construction. Yet, I was pleased to see that my plan was almost entirely preserved during construction.
You know, I had got chance in various other prestigious subjects, but I consider that medical is the profession where you have the most freedom to do everything even after leading an honest life. I am still involved with dwaings, grapic designing and publicatios. My advise to you is to do the work you love, don’t bother for achievements. I had made a creation in my own campus almost three decades ago..
There is no name plate bearing the memory of the architecture. I did it because I just loved doing it. But my batchmates had shared this precious memory of mine with others. You see the real history is revealing itself again and again.
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48