[Free write] free falling

in #esteem5 years ago

I had a chance to watch this movie, Alita the battle angel. As many of you would have read about the plot from the internet, and possibly some of you already watched it and wrote a review about it already, so I'm not going to waste time talking about the movie that much. As usual James Cameron has always like to reward his audience with more than 120 minutes of film length, I find it long winded and towards the final 40 minutes I had to technically struggle to stay awake.

Let's talk about how is the twist on the movie relate to reality. I have been blessed with good SBD price in 2017. I was having hard time to convince myself to stay around and there's even one point I powered down everything and ready to leave, but the price for Steem is just way too low, and I couldn't convince myself to sell those Steems and power them back up.

Until, I realized crypto is an asset, not "money". And I started to collect more and more Steems during its cheap season. Over the pass few months I have been gradually increasing my SP by a fold. I have totally forgotten what HODL is because nobody sell their assets when it's growing don't you agree? It's like you bought a house, someone is renting the house, you're collecting enough rental to pay for the mortgage and have a little bit extra for beer, will you sell the house?

Today, a friend offering me to buy his steems. I rechecked again, steem price at 0.38$, no doubt it's a gain from its watermarked low, but how can we compare it to its watermark high last year? I tried to convince the friend to keep his Steem and HODL for a little longer, but I lost of word when the friend said how many times we have gone through free fall situation with Steem? It's hard for him to HODL his 50 over steems and ask him to be positives. He's got no lost love or whatsoever. It's only 50, but I'm different. I'm stuck 2500sp, a tiny movement worth a lot either gain or loss of value.

He even pointed his finger at me, how many times have I wanted to take some of those steem out and the price is discouraging, yet I put them all back in instead of liquidate it. I thought about it, and said fine. That will be all. I paid him a 100MYR and bought his account with master key. I set his phone number to bar mode from calling in, and deleted his contact once and for all.

Free fall or not, I will not relate the "value" with currencies anymore. I asked myself, even if tomorrow I find Steem price worth 200$, am I going to power down? The answer is no. If free fall happen again, the price goes to 0.005, am I going to sell? Is anyone going to buy from me? The answer is, again, NO. There's nothing more can I do other than HODL.

To me, steem is utility token. I don't need so call friends to tell me what should I do to my Steems. O still have some SBD pending orders, hopefully o get to trade them all for Steem and power up some more! Stay tune for bigger upvotes my friend. In going to check and see if I can buy some more SP.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

OK thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks buddy

Posted using Partiko Android

We keep falling, keep keep falling to drench... 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Fall or not doesn't even matter anymore. Will you sell?

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed, I will let them rot inside my account 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I am going to show your post to my friend!
he keeps calculating steem to usd, while I keep saying; don't check how much dollar your steem is worth just focus on gettin more steem, because if you keep relating it to usd/euro you will get discouraged from steem after a big drop and you might stop alltogether after a while.
steem has had multiple free falls, but every time steem fell down it allways got back up, so the 40 cents per steem now will not be 40 cents when you decide to invest it elsewhere in a few years.

Exactly, just forget about the dollar value. Even if it's $40 now, you won't sell it anyway 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

你好鸭,金鱼佬!

@annepink给您叫了一份外卖!

@pgr 小P 迎着飓风 坐着高铁 念着软哥金句:"没见过你这种脸皮比城墙还厚的人啊,离你八丈远脸皮都弹我这了!" 给您送来
芒果纷纷雪

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

谢谢小皮。石头

Posted using Partiko Android


It’s a tie! 平局!再来!下回我再出拳头!


You win!!!! 你赢了!愿赌服输,给你点赞!

ok i stopped reading after reading the word twist becuz i didn't wanna see any spoilers. i'll read later! 😆

Don't worry, I twisted it to Steem. 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

lol ok but i'll come back after i watch the movie first

You'll enjoy it as long as you don't put too much common sense to it 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

吃了吗?你好!家中可愛的寵物照想要跟大家分享嗎?或是出去玩拍到一些可愛的動物,別忘了到@dpet分享,可以得到@dpet的獎勵喔!倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

谢谢小巴迪。最近没看到猫,可能被外来吃光了。

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

OK thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70