A SHORT TALE by an Old woman...

in #esteem6 years ago

Today came as a good day as any other, and first thing i do is my morning jogging from from my street to iyanapaja bustop (located in Lagos) and back to my sweet cozy apartment.

Every morning on my return jogging i usally take another route just to see and buy bread and akara (A kind of delicacy here in Nigeria) from an old woman. we had become friends with time and she would always keep the best fresh bread ready for me to pick up.

image
image

Getting to her cubicle, i saw she was sitting looking so deep in thought probably unaware of what was going on around her.
"Mama!" i called but she still seemed deep in thought it was when i called the second time she jerked and saw me...
witha sorrowful smile she called to me.
"Chichi", how are you this morning dear?
"I'm fine mama but you look so worried mama what is wrong" i replied.
"now sit down beside me Chichi i will tell you a story".
then she bagan...
A very long time ago, i was a beautiful young woman who just got in as a freshman into the university i am from ondo state,and i got into the university through a scholarship form my hometown to study mass communication.

In my first year at school, i came out the best in my department and had a first class. i was a role model to my colleagues and was even the class HOC (head of class) and all the lecturers where interested in getting to know me,i was getting popular as the best student.

image

image

All this started to change when Dora came into my life. She was a student in my department but rarely came for lectures.
she would come to me once a while for me to teach her some things on a course or two and that was how we became close friends.Dora was a lively, charming, charismatic person also very cute unlike my calm, reserved personality, this must have been what attracted me to be friends with dora,little did i know that i was heading into a trap i would not escape from.

Dora started introducing me to a brand new world outside of school, i started going to clubs, drinking, i even started smoking different combinations of joint. i was enjoying myself and forgot to pay attention to my studies.

image

image

As expected, my studies started going down the drain. i started missing tests due to the fact that i no longer attended lectures, my lecturers where concerned and tried reaching out to me but i ignored them. Exams came and from a first class A grade student i went to a F grade student i was asked to withdraw. things started to fall apart, my friend dora left me to my condition and even told me it wasn't her business that i failed at school, i becane a subject for laughter among my colleagues who envied me before,i had disappointed my people in my home town who sponsored my education. i had nowhere else to run to so i started hawking and selling petty things just to make end meet,anyways i got married to a pastor and we have 4 lovely children all doing well. my husband died a few years back...

"So mama, although you had a bad experience when at school, you have accomplished something by having these 4 lovely children all doing well. why are you still so sad mama?" i asked

then she replied.

Never joke with your youth my daughter work hard during your youth so you can enjoy at old age.if i had faced my studies, i could have been at the top of my career now enjoying all what money can afford. but i threw that opportunity away and wasted my youthful years.learn from me my daughter and do not make the same mistakes as i did you hear me? she said.

"Yes mama, I've heard you.

i picked up the bread and akara and gave mama some money for herself and went home thinking...

thanks for reading...
upvote comment and resteem.
Demorcrazy.

Sort:  

Your story is so pathetic. It reminds me if a friend in school. It is well

yea my bro its well

This is a lovely story...
I love the lessons from it...

thank you gloxypearl

Motivative bro
I love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56