You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MONARCH & HYDRANGEA for WEDNESDAY WALK 🌸🦋🌸

in #esteem5 years ago

Beautiful monarch and flower shots. Such a great contrast against the white flowers! I love Monarchs and always rear some from eggs collected in the spring from my butterfly weed. After sending a bunch out to find mates in the early spring and summer, I usually let nature take its course after that.

Sort:  

I had no idea that can be done! Wow! Thank you so much for visiting my Dear, I am happy you like them 🦋😊🦋

Oh, it is so interesting to watch the microscopic eggs become teeny caterpillars which grow at an alarming rate while feeding on the milkweed - and then to watch them shed their skins a final time revealing beautiful lime green chrysalides with gold spots before emerging a couple of weeks later as beautiful Monarchs! A butterfly doesn't make a chrysalis - it's inside beneath the caterpillar skin. It is intriguing to watch the whole process! I have learned so much!

Oh my goodness, that sounds so fascinating! I just found videos on YouTube about that. I am going to look for those eggs when I am on my walk next time. Thank you so much for shraing my Dear 🦋😍🦋

Better still. Plant doe milkweed and they will find you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81