You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cooking with Bozz: Instant Pot Fajitas

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

FOR TSE: ---> @catweasel bought one of these several months back. It's not the Instant Pot brand, but it's the same thing. (I think he got a better price on one that was on sale.) It has truly become one of the features in our weekly cooking. The time-saving feature is simply priceless. I can cook things in about 40 minutes that would normally take hours. So I don't have to schedule my time quite so carefully.

My father used to say I was "instant everything." No patience. No warning. One minute I'm fine. Ten minutes later I want something ... and Katie, bar the door. I can't argue with that characterization.

The Weasel calls me "binary" -- I'm either on ... or totally off. When it comes to food, I'm never "getting hungry." I'm either not hungry or I'm totally starving. The same with sleep. I can be wide awake ... and thirty minutes later, I can't lie down fast enough. So anything that accommodates this personality quirk makes life for everyone -- especially The Weasel -- much easier. I really am impressed with all the things we can do with ours.

The Weasel was lamenting that he couldn't find big cartons of peach yogurt yesterday. I suggested we do some reading and maybe make our own. We can tweak it any way we want ... add stuff ... it will turn out a lot better. I'm quite the do-it-yourself-er when it comes to cooking. Cooking from scratch is right up my alley -- but anything that saves time and still gives great results ... is a blessing.

I'm really enjoying this series. Thank you for doing it. (And fajitas and New Mexico go together like apple pie and ice cream.) We do a lot of Mexican food, too. @apanamamama came up with an enchilada sauce recipe that I "customized" and it's splendid. (Read down in the comments.) I've cooked pot roast in that sauce and then shredded it for enchiladas. MMMMMmmmmm!!!

https://steemit.com/food/@apanamamama/how-to-make-flat-enchiladas-with-homemade-enchilada-sauce-tex-mex-goodness-recipe

We've made our own refried beans from left-over pinto beans before. (OMG, they were great!!) We're going to try it in the Insta-Pot thingie next.

@lizelle

Sort:  

That is really awesome! I am starting to love our instant pot and we have just begun to scratch the surface of what it can do. I am going to the store today to pick up some pork ribs to cook in the instant pot sometime.

Thanks for the awesome comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81