Freewrite Day 536 Resurrect

in #esteem5 years ago

t9pivj4ou2.jpg

I make people happy by being Christian in SE Asia. I had to get used to being asked my religion when I got here. In Thailand most people I met were Buddhist and knew few English words, but “Christian” was one of them. Asking your religion might be the first and only thing they can ask you there. It was shocking to me to see such big smiles of relief when they found out I am not another Godless heathen from the West.

My Godparents were Muslims. We went to their mosque and they came to our church when I was growing up. It wasn’t until I was in my 40’s that I had a start one day and wondered how that was approved and came about back in the 1960’s.

Everyone involved was dead or incapacitated by that time, so I will never know. All I knew was that if my parents had died, I would have gone to my Godparents and they would have made sure I was raised in the church.

Those two people were the ones that loved me the most after my parents. My brother and I spent a lot of time there, “just in case” something happened to our parents.

The Muslim relatives of my Godparents were my aunts and uncles and cousins as far as I knew, and they treated me like family. They were from the old country and many did not speak English, but that did not matter.

When Muslims find out you are Christian, they often say, “We have the same God of Abraham and you belong to the People of The Book.” This is what they sometimes call The Bible - The Book.

Back in the states, I did not talk about religion much and if people knew I went to church they felt bad for me or looked down on me. Now in Malaysia – a Muslim country – I attend the best church I have ever been to of the many in my surprisingly long life. It is very multi-cultural, charismatic, and loving. Maybe this is my own resurrection at such an interesting time in my life.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow Tips!

My April 2019 Minnow Tips Update Series:

Part One - General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Part Two - Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Part Three - Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfun

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, steemmonsters and dtube videos.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 6% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

I am so grateful to you @magicdice. Thank you very much for your support.

That’s as it should be. Each respecting the other’s faith/opinions/politics and assorted idiosyncrasies.
And without further ado, your fast-moving prompt for today is:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day537-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-slug

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I love that kind of tolerance. I wished that to be true everywhere in the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87