Freewrite Day 658 Coercion

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

wqhagdgrha.jpg

Here is wiki on coercion:

Coercion is the practice of forcing another party to act in an involuntary manner by use of threats or force. It involves a set of various types of forceful actions that violate the free will of an individual to induce a desired response

Having just traveled through immigration checkpoints 4 times in the last 5 days, I feel acquainted with coercion.

Airports are places that make the 99.9999% of good people jump through hoops continually to try to catch the 0.00000001% who are paid by big bad guys to cause trouble and rarely do.

I’m not a believer in terrorism other than that of the governmental variety. They certainly have a way of frightening people in airports these days.

One of the places I passed through has some of the full-body scanners someone is making a lot of money on selling. I avoid those and go through the old fashioned xray scanners and try not to set them off.

I use a scottevest to keep my money and passport safe when traveling. Something in it sets off the machines so I remove it and let it go on the belt with the luggage. I have learned to take it off WAY early and far back in the line. In SE Asia they do not want me to take it off. In the US I had to take it off along with my shoes.

We do not remove shoes in SE Asia since that shoe-bomber was a big old fakety-fake-faker and only Westerners believe you can blow up a plane with your shoes.

But today I still got to see a little 6 year old girl get wanded when something she was wearing set off a machine. Whew! I feel so safe now. Coercion is awesome in action.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Safe travels! I watched a person slip right through and shook my head in amazement in Florida once.

Posted using Partiko Android

I personally believe it's all in an effort to keep the country safe.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt.

Join us this once, we'll do you good
Write, express yourself, be cool.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-10-2019-single-prompt-option
...
Make way for the pros
Those who take the 3-in-1 are boss 😎
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/6aaocp-weekend-freewrite-part-1-the-first-sentence

Do have a glorious and nice weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13