Freewrite Day 661 Kitchen

in #esteem5 years ago

acfqljly58.jpg

I used to take having a kitchen for granted, but not anymore. I have been living in many places without kitchens, and sometimes even when I have one, I can’t use it.

I do not use the kitchen I have here at my shared condo in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia for a reason I never heard of before moving here. There are some men in another part of the condo who cook often and then leave their food waste in the kitchen sink until they feel like taking it out to the trash days later.

This leads to bug and smells so I avoid this kitchen as much as I can. There are two large bags of trash in the kitchen sink right now, and the small is horrendous.

Previously, I have lived in places with kitchens that were off limits for other reasons, such as the landlord turning off the gas or electric to the appliances. This happened in my last several places in San Diego and the last place I lived here in Malaysia.

I often wonder why people would do such things in kitchens. I normally do not ask since this would cause further upset. The people who are protective of their kitchens must have reasons for this behavior, but I have never found out what it is. It’s all a part of living in shared accommodation, and since I will not be living in the place for long, I just make do in some other way.

In my last place here in Malaysia, there were other roommates and so we all had to stop cooking. The boyfriend of the landlord tried to tell us how to turn the utilities back on, but none of us wanted to take that step. So I guess this was a little bonus for locals selling cooked food.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

okqyugrc33.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I cook a LOT and a kitchen is very important to me. I can't imagine living without one. Nor can I imagine not wanting to throttle anyone who left garbage in the sink. I have been blessed in that.

Yes, this is a shocker. I tried to protest, but got nowhere with these jokers. It's just easier to stay out.

Thank you for sharing those kitchen adventures @fitinfun, and have a great time in Malaysia, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Thank you very much, @thisisawesome. I really appreciate your support!

Thanks @fitinfun, and thank you for creating awesome content.

Wow! I can't even fathom never having the kitchen having grown up in houses that all were equipped with a decent kitchen. My current kitchen is quite large but the stove does not work so I have an above the counter convection stove. It does the job for two people but it's certainly not sufficient for baking and such like. It's no surprise that I don't cook a whole lot even with the gadgets like instapot in my kitchen.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to try an instapot. Everyone I know who has one loves it. I am surprised at how often i do not have a kitchen now, but I'm used to it :)

With that or a small oven you could cook in a room. My kitchen is small but I cook and bake etc, just not now.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe - the effort just seems too much for now.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-662-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-digital-human

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I wonder why no one was willing to put the utilities on. You talk about electricity/gas.

Sounds to me you live between extremely lazy and dirty people who's asses should be kicked same with the landlord.

If you do not set rules how or what, not checking those who rent and wreck your place you deserve such customers.

I am so curious to know how the landlord lives.

How about the bathroom? Hope you don't need to share it too with others and their garbage.

Good to hear you won't stay there. It is bad for your health.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I think people get territorial about their things. They feel like the rest of us are using too much utilities and so turn them off.

The landlord does not live here or even visit. Thankfully I share my bathroom with only one lady who is rarely here and clean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67