SublimeSunday has Limes this Week!

in #esteem5 years ago

Today is SublimeSunday - An excuse to post your random, creative or crazy ideas initiated by @c0ff33a, and so I have a post about limes today.

The joy of realizing we have the same word is overwhelming to me!

I have no idea where I took this first shot and why I use it so often. It's got lemons anyway and the fruit looks a bit past it's prime.

icl5zgy6tb.jpg

But I have used this shot for years in various posters trying to get unhealthy people to do better for themselves by adding some limes, lemons, oranges, kiwis or any other high Vitamin C food to their daily food.

Here are all the best places to get your Vitamin C according to a poster from Dietitians-Online.com.

g2m9jsopfn.png

It is basically a lot of different fruit, some veggies, and some seaweed.

This is all part of the @fitinfunfood plan encapsulated by the two theories of:

Eat Less Crap

Eat More Nutrition

In the case of limes, both sides of the equation kick in.

Here are some gigantic limes from the Coronado California Farmers Market, where I used to live and shop. I have been featuring this market for MarketFriday posts by @dswigle for the last couple of weeks and now this is a shot that missed the cut somehow.

Also seen are persimmons in the bins behind, and pomegranates to the left. Both of these are great sources of vitamin C, oddly missing from the chart above.

dlgh4y74lt.jpg

Here are some limes from Mexico by @bxlphabet. These were in his local Smart and Final In National City California and were at the top of the price window at 39 cents apiece.

17torzapqm.jpg

These limes came from Tesco in Bangkok Thailand, where they do not grade fruit by size or shape or care if they look lovely.

These were all in the same little bag, and cost 10 thb for the pack. That is 30 cents. I'm showing them in my hand to feature:

  • how small they are
  • how unlike they are
  • how not perfect they are

For my spoiled California self, the oranges and lemons are very sub-par in this part of the world.

SE Asian limes have all looked like the might not be good, but all have been delicious!

2cjz35jfh1.jpg

They are much stronger in taste than US limes (or Mexican) and are much easier to cut. Like this one artistically placed on a plate with my 60 cent Thai knife in the rear.

vcqvr7ci5j.jpg

Now look! I squeezed it with my arthritic fingers. I look at this as a workout, but sadly, this is hard for me now.

dvfw8055ix.jpg

And now the squeezed remains are in a cup, and I have already licked my fingers and hands (not shown).

9kgqz5xa7a.jpg

Floating in water, the juice I did not get will be there when I drink this up. I have loved limes since childhood and this juice is not going to waste.

kctgfe1g6q.jpg

My photo skills astound again. It would be hard to get a worse crop.

But the blue makes me happy even though I am not sure why it is there.

qkevvztkow.jpg

The second lime has done its duty and now the remains are in the glass. The juice of two limes is in the plate.

ygbummkcrd.jpg

From here I will just add food until a soup miraculously appears for a bad photo and a good meal.

You are seeing a bunch of cut up salad type food food with boiling hot water poured over it Since I was living in a hotel room with no cooking except a kettle at the time.

If you are going to cook with any Vitamic C food, add it at the end since Vitamin C breaks down in cooking.

if6jbl18ya.jpg

The lime juice is in there, you just cannot see it anymore.

Eat Less Crap - Limes Edition

Wash your citrus in a solution of baking soda and vinegar. Use a food brush to scrub them. Citrus - whether organic or not as one of the "most dirty" fruit on the outside due to the roughness. Buy a vegetable brush if you do not have one.

Wash your citrus fruit once, and you will never not wash it again. Please leave me a comment when you do, so everyone knows I am not crazy.

Eat More Nutrition - Limes Edition

A lime a day keeps the scurvy and doctor away, unless you did not wash it first.

Here is a reminder of the 31 Essential Nutrients we are trying to get into our diets. One lime a day gives you 25-50% of your Vitamin C and 2-10% of your folate, so we have a ways to go.

g6yo7o7yrh.png

Here is everything that The World's Healthiest foods has to say about limes if you would like more knowledge.

And here are all the benefits of limes according to a poster from TopHealthRemedies.com

1etynowr5u.png

Action Step

Go to the store or market where you live and buy some limes. If you get a lot, wash a few. If you get a few, wash them all. Then squeeze one a day into or onto something you later eat.

Done.

Do this for the rest of your life after that.

If you cannot find limes in your country get something else from the list.

Were already started eating greens this week.

How to Eat Greens

Please let me know how this is all going for you. Just with two small changes to your diet, you should be feeling better soon.

FYI to @c0ff33a:
This post is on my new blog, @fitinfunfood. If I post any window or sunset type posts, I will still be on @fitinfun, but my food posts have a new home.

Thank you so much for SublimeSunday. I love posting here :)

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with my weight loss coaching program. Anyone can do this if I did.

If you would like to help the @fitinfun family of STEEM survive and thrive, please follow our blogs! I am using @busy to post one post a day for each of them, and we get upvotes based on our followers collective SP. We all follow back, because big or small, we love you all!

Sort:  

Great post! I had no idea that citrus was that dirty, but, I can assure you that I will be washing them from now on.

Yes! We eat our greens and limes! Thank you for all the wonderful information!

!tip

I'm so happy to let you know that tip, @dswigle. I hope you will report back your results or even do a post on it. Good you you with the healthy eating, and thank you so much for your support. You are awesome :)

Always my pleasure!

🎁 Hi @fitinfunfood! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Your Lips... Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Fabulous post, information packed and certainly an education. I suppose with our busy modern lives convenience is often taken over good quality fresh fruit and vegetables which is a shame.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much @coff33a. My new food blog is a great relief. I could not do as much of this @fitinfun and I have renewed vigor.

Thank you so much for this idea. I will be back next week on one of my blogs for sure. What comes up comes out for this challenge and I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95