Persecution

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Source

Have you ever wondered how many people are persecuted for their beliefs, looks, lack of wealth, disabilities, race and yes, for doing good to others? I have no figures on these but read the papers and the internet and you shall get an idea. It's happening everywhere and to a lot of people on the planet. Personally, I have never experienced being persecuted for any of these things and I am grateful to the Lord for it and I know there are a lot more who have been spared too. But what if I wasn't so lucky ? What shall I do? Run and hide, pretend it will go away and never come back or do the dastardly thing and capitulate.

No, I don't think any of these options will be the right thing to do because cowards never win. I will fight the injustice and oppression with all I've got and God's help is all I need. I will stand firm in my belief that He will not abandon me when I call on Him. There will be a lot of suffering and pain but the cross is all about pain and suffering. Those who want to follow Christ must pick their cross and carry it. But I guess we must understand that hatred of our persecutors will envelope our hearts and bitterness creep in slowly in our souls.

geexdnkm2h.png
Source

There is only one way to set us free from this fate and that is to pray for them. Jesus has commanded us to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us. I don't think there is anything harder for me to accept than this teaching. It gave me some hard thinking to do because I thought this was impossible, something highly unlikely for me to do and found it downright repulsive if not sadistic. I never gave it much thought then but as time went on and I would come across it in scriptures and elsewhere I realized that Jesus would not ask us to do something not profitable for our sanctity and salvation. He set an example when in His passion and death He never condemned His detractors, those who gave false witness against Him, those who wanted to kill Him and everyone who mocked Him and abandoned Him in His hour of need when nailed to the cross. He could have zapped them to oblivion in a second if He wanted to but instead forgave them and prayed to the Father to forgive them for they know not what they do.

With much sighing and resignation I surrendered to commit myself to accept and do as He wants me to. But it hasn't been easy for until the present there is still this nagging resistance not to forgive and to pray for my persecutors. The comforting part is I have learned to lessen the hate and bitterness through meditation and quite reflection on God's word which will pave the way to total forgiveness of those who persecute me. Amen.


Source

For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil. (1 Peter 3:12)

Sort:  

I find it very difficult to always follow this .... it’s difficult to endure suffering and have faith that it will all be okay .... it’s difficult to suffer loss of a loved one ... especially when they are young .... it is difficult to endure suffering at the hands of another person .... and pray for them ... while having no choice but to continue enduring that pain ..... life puts us in situations where we question our lives and unfortunately our faith .... I have heard many times ... too many ... everything happens for a reason .... but it’s hard to believe that when you are suffering illness ... death .... pain .... etc . Recent events in my life where good people have suffered tremendously have led me to doubt my faith .

I remember a story shared by ravi zacarias, a certain horse keeper lost one horse, his neighbors came to tell him how bad it was for him to loose it.

After weeks, the horse came with 10 more wild horses. The neighbors came again and said it was good luck afterall for him to loose one and gain 10 more.

Then the horse keeper's son broke his leg, the neighbors came and said how bad it was for his son to break his leg an now is disabled.

After months, a war came into the land and the military needs new recruits. The disabled son was spared because of his broken leg. The neighbors again came and said how lucky he was his son wasn't included in the recruits.

We can be blind in the blessings in disguise of our current suffering. Only God knows and we have to keep the faith.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @junebride. Thanks for the visit. A very good friend of mine, @bycoleman, emailed me the following which I believe can help people look at things that happen to them from a very different and heavenly perspective. I am sharing this with you as I am touched by your concern and your advise on "blessings in disguise of our current suffering."

There is so much we do not know about why things happen and to whom, but this I do know. In the times we know on the surface as only deep pain and continued tribulations our Lord works to heal our soul.

We are here to learn to love as He loved, to care as He cared and unfortunately sometimes to know pain as He knew pain and suffering as deep as He knew suffering. In these later two, the building of our faith is made perfect.

There is nothing easy about these tribulations and challenges, except this. He is with us always and we will not be given more than we can bear ... with his help. We can do all things in Christ Jesus, who gives us immense strength and courage.

Blessings to you and hubby.

Thanks sir... appreciate it

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there @anonimity5. Yes this is always an extremely difficult command to follow. My wife has shown me through the years not so much a strong faith but her perseverance in strengthening her belief through prayer and spiritual reading. And I believe it has paid off because today she is grateful that she has cancer of the breast stage 2b. She is undergoing chemotheraphy and feels that she has never felt more alive than now. Problems sure but we don't let them get in the way God comes first. Hang on and pray always. Thanks for your comment and we'll pray for you.

I will keep your wife in my prayers. I love that she has a positive attitude, that will help her as she undergoes treatment.

Your prayers are very much welcome and will definitely help get her through the treatment and beyond. Her attitude is a plus factor as never did she lament her affliction and will often tell me, "Why not me?" instead of "Lord, why me?" Surrendering oneself to accept and do God's will means also accepting with one's whole heart whatever the Lord bestows, whether for better or for worse, in sickness or in health.

Thanks for your support @emergehealthier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97