The Sin of Pride

in #esteem6 years ago


Have you been thought of as full of yourself, boastful and high and mighty? I most certainly have, quite a few times more than I care to remember actually. Being prideful really never detaches itself from our nature does it? Sometimes I think we take a perverse liking to being full of pride. It could be because we want to be better than most or simply a case of plain snobbishness. I've always believed that everything I have done and achieved was because of my inherent talents, not dependent on anyone or anything but myself. That is until I laid my hands on a book that turned my world upside down or more like wreaked havoc on my bloated self esteem.

I can't remember the author who wrote it but he definitely says that we are nothing and we don't have anything that God has not given to us. We are empty vessels bereft of any goodness or talents or any capacity to act without His grace. I remember how resentful it made me feel. What does he mean I am nothing? God couldn't have made me a no good for nothing! Totally unacceptable! So as soon as I settled down and calmed myself I started reading further into this mystery of what or who I really am. It opened my mind to the fact that we are mere creatures of God, He made us from dust, from nothing if you think more deeply about it. So I begin to see that if He made us then naturally He will provide all that we need to sustain our existence. We are empty vessels at the beginning but He will fill up our emptiness with all that is good .

Are we to question what God does ? Is He answerable to us? No He is not, by the simple reason that He is God, He can do anything He wants. So what are we to take away from all this? We have a God who is generous, loving and merciful. He wants to share all He has with us. Are we to refuse this loving God? Are we to question why He chose to bring us into this world and one day spend eternity with him in His kingdom? A place of indescribable beauty and eternal happiness. This world where He has put us is temporary, fraught with troubles and misery because we are made of dust. But if we ask for His grace to fill our hearts with His love then perhaps bad things won't happen to good people so much. When the burdens we carry become too much to bear and we waiver and question and wallow in self pity then our hearts are going on empty. We must turn to God and humbly ask for His grace to understand, to rise and go on to live the path He has chosen for us.

)

Maybe too if we practice the virtue of humility we can rid ourselves of this blight called pride because to humble ourselves before God is to admit we are nothing before Him. That we need Him and cannot live without Him. This world He made is beautiful and all the people that surrounds us are His chosen ones. Everyone you see everyday were chosen by God to be in this world and we're to get along with one another as much as we can bear with each other's faults and imperfections as we ceaselessly pray to the Father for our fellowmen.

(All Images sourced from this link here)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11