You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birds, bugs and things!

in #esteem5 years ago

These small things are all well photographed Stephen, some of us float through life never noticing the small things.

Mentioning small (not quite that small) I noticed two crested barbets on the bird feeder, in my haste to check they flew away, really hoping they did not go far since I have never seen them here at the coast before.

Have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

Put out fruit for the Barbets Lady Joan and they will be back. We used to feed them with big chunks of Pawpaw.
Thank you and glad that you liked the photos.
Blessings!

Barbets have generally made a come back this year we have the black collared, the thick billed and now I have seen the crested barbet, something must be attracting them into the garden with 2 of my large trees and 2 bushes carrying berries at the moment.

As for the pawpaw I put out the skins with some fruit over our back wall where the sugarcane has grown along the verge giving them protection, they may be living in there.

Always enjoy photography, makes my day visiting everyone I am able to connect with.

Great and if they are in there then they will come for the pawpaw Lady Joan. We used to buy the smaller Papino's and we simply cut them in halve and laid them on the grass neat a tree in the garden.
It got so that if there were no fruit the Barbets would come to sit in the tree and call us. We called the one "Smiley", as he would dance from leg to leg whilst calling me.
I hope you find out what's drawing them and that you will get some great shots of them!
Blessings!

We used to put fruit out, sadly with numbers growing with Vervet monkey troops we have had to stop since it was attracting them.

Now fruit pieces go down to the bottom of the garden where I see most of the barbets under the large trees.

Cool idea and at the same time you will be able to get good shots of them my friend.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94