Taking three kittens to see the vets, พาลูกแมวสามตัวไปหาหมอ

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

What a surprise! My two ‘female’ kittens changed into ‘male’ kittens! The vets had a good laugh at me. I have been warned by my gardener that my two big female kittens have probably become pregnant.

image

She pointed out the expanding stomach when the kittens were walking by. My gardener was the first person to inspect the tiny kittens and reported to me that they were all females. But lately I had noticed that their back ends looked more like male kittens. But she was very confident and urged me to take these three kittens to see the vets for sterilization very soon.

image

I did phone the vets to make a Monday morning appointment. These kittens had to be caught and put into the bamboo cage early in the morning to prevent them from eating and drinking for eight hours before the operation. I felt so sorry for them as I closed the door of the bamboo cage. They were calling for help and they looked very confused. Usually I would give them either grilled fish or omelette in the morning, so this time they were very disappointed.

image

After an hour, I went to check the cage and found the youngest and smallest kitten managed to squeeze herself through a small hole in the cage. I had to capture her and put her in a proper cage. The kittens were about four months’ old so I could not put two into a small cage any more. I put the two bigger kittens in the plastic baskets. After half an hour, I found the white kitten outside the basket! She has become like Houdini, she could just disappear from inside the basket. I found out that she pushed the lid so hard that one side of the lid gave a small opening. I needed to tie the lids of the baskets tightly and switch the white kitten into the blue wire-cage. The youngest kitten just sat quietly inside the basket. The white kitten called Snow was trying very hard to get outside the cage, she was persistently digging a hole in the cage.

image

The two big kittens looked very stressed by the trip in the tuk-tuk as it’s very noisy. At the animal hospital, I told the vets about my concern that these kittens might be pregnant. After the ultra sound and examination, the vets told me that the fat ginger kitten has turned out to be a male! He’s actually fat which made him looking like a pregnant cat! I told them that my gardener were confident they were all female kittens.

image

The vets told me to come back in an hour as the male kittten’s operation could be done straight away. I took the tuk-tuk to the main provincial temple, Wat Pochai, to get some positive healing vibes. The vet gave me a call to tell me that Snow also turned out to be a male kitten! So, I had one more hour of sight seeing! All the ultra sounding to find out whether the two fat kittens were pregnant was useless. Only the smallest kitten is a female under two kilos and she would have to stay at the hospital for ten days, as I had to get back to Bangkok for my work.

image

The switching of the kittens’ sex came as a nice surprise to me. But it also teaches me a lesson that I have to believe in my own judgement and perception. Local villagers, though very poorly educated, tends to think that they know more about their surrounding world better than city dwellers. The operation bill has been reduced by fifty percents! So I no longer have to go on a diet in order to save some money for the cats.

image

I insisted on taking the two male kittens, Snow and Joan, home while under the anesthetic influence. It’s less stressful for their journey back home. I had to keep checking them in their baskets every twenty minutes. The ginger cat, Joan, woke up first and appeared to recover within two hours. Snow gave me a fright, he was laying still with eyes wide open but there was no movement at all. Then he threw up some undigested food by the side of his mouth. I decided to take him outside the cage and put him on the bench. I could not find any heart beat or breathing signs. I gave him a body massage and opened his mouth to see that there was no obstruction in his throat. I also blew air into his mouth.

image

To my relief, he started to move his lungs in a big sigh and gave a faint ‘meow’. Then the breathing movement of his body started as normal, but he still could not move his body. After about ten minutes, Snow tried to walk like a drunken cat. The younger brother, Joan, could walk more steadily. The two kittens became very docile and needed comforting company for about an hour. I could not believe that they were just like children being confined in hospital with very insecured feelings. Their mother, Jilly had disappeared for almost a month after the sterilization. I guess the experience and the chemicals had done something to her brain and memories. I should have put her in a cage for a few days, but it’s too late now. I have to fetch the smallest kitten called Kwan in ten days’ time.

image

สุดสัปดาห์ที่ผ่านมา เราต้องพาลูกแมวสามตัวไปหาหมอเพื่อทำหมัน ผลลัพธ์คือ ลูกแมวสองตัวที่ท้องโย้เหมือนแมวท้อง ได้กลายเพศเป็นแมวตัวผู้ ส่วนลูกแมวตัวเล็กสุดเป็นลูกแมวเพศเมียที่จะได้รับการผ่าตัดทำหมันต่อไป

คนสวนของเราคอยเตือนให้เราเอาแมวสองตัวที่ดูเหมือนตั้งท้องแล้วนั้นไปทำหมันด่วน แต่เราดูแล้วด้านหลังมันไม่เหมือนลูกแมวตัวเล็กสุดที่เป็นตัวเมียแน่ๆ เราก็เขื่อคนสวนซึ่งมีความเชื่อมั่นมาก และเขาคิดว่าคนเมืองหลวงไม่มีความรู้เรื่องธรรมชาติ พอเราไปถึงโรงพยาบาลสัตว์ เราก็บอกหมอว่าแมวอาจจะท้อง และอยากให้ทำหมันแมวสามตัวด้วย หมอก็ทำการอัลตาร์ซาวด์ แมวไม่ท้องสักตัว ทำหมันได้ พอตรวจแมวตัวกลางแล้ว หมอบอกว่าเป็นแมวเพศผู้ จะทำหมันให้เสร็จในหนึ่งชั่วโมง

image

เราจึงไปไหว้พระและเดินเล่นที่วัดโพธิ์ชัย ไปกราบหลวงพ่อพระใส และทำบุญ. สักพักหมอโทรมาบอกว่าแมวสีขาวก็เป็นแมวตัวผู้ ให้เราเดินเล่นอีกชั่วโมง จึงค่อยไปรับแมวสองตัวกลับบ้าน ข่าวนี้ทำให้เราต้องมาทบทวน ว่าจะเชื่อความคิดเห็นของคนสวนและความมั่นใจของเขาไม่ได้แล้ว เราต้องเชื่อในสิ่งที่เราเห็นจริงๆ แต่ข่าวนี้ทำให้เราประหยัดค่าทำหมันไปครึ่งหนึ่งทีเดียว เราดีใจที่ไม่ต้องอดอาหารและงดของฟุ่มเฟือยเพื่อเอามาช่วยลูกแมว

image

เรารับแมวสองตัวกลับบ้าน และต้องคอยดูแลจนกว่ามันจะฟื้นจากยาสลบ แมวสีส้มตัวกลางท่าท่างแข็งแรงมาก สามารถยืนตัวตรงได้ภายในสองชั่วโมง ส่วนแมวสีขาวนั้น ค่อนข้างน่าเป็นห่วง เพราะมัน นอนตาโพลงและไม่ขยับตัวเลยในกรง มันอาเจียนอาหารที่แอบกินไปในตอนเช้า เราตัดสินใจเอามันออกจากกรง เพื่อดูว่ามันหยุดหายใจหรือไม่ เราอ้าปากมันเพื่อดูว่าไม่มีอาการติดในหลอดลม และเป่าอากาศใส่ปากแมว ตามด้วยการหาสัญญาณหัวใจ และการทำงานของปอด แต่ไม่พบการเคลื่อนไหวเลย เราก็นวดลำตัวและกระตุ้นหัวใจ สักครู่ก็มีเสียงถอนหายใจเฮือกใหญ่ ปอดและซี่โครงมีการเคลื่อนไหว ปอดทำงาน แมวตอบสนองด้วยการร้องเบาๆ ตาของมันเริ่มขยับได้ เราค่อยโล่งใจ ว่ามันหายใจเป็นปกติแล้ว เราต้องคอยดูแลลูกแมวเกือบชั่วโมง หานํ้าและอาหารเหลวให้กิน มันเดินเหมือนแมวเมาเหล้าสักพัก แล้วก็นอนหลับด้วยความเพลียทั้งสองตัว อีกสิบวันเราต้องไปรับแมวตัวเล็กกลับบ้าน

image

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Boys after castration recover quickly.
Girls need time.
But you can not feed the cats at least 6 hours before castration or sterilization.
Since during the operation under anesthesia, they may die due to the vomitus of food, which has not yet had time to perish !!!
Veterinarians should always ask what time the cat last ate.
Quick amendment to your kittens!
Waiting for good news!

Thank you very much! During the evening, the white kitten called Snow was walking alright and playing with his brother, Joan. Snow escaped from the cage fir half an hour and was eating food without my permission!

Luckily he’s recovered from the operation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations!
I am very glad that your pets are fine !!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you very much!

I'm glad that is solved. Your white kitten must have eaten something when he was escaping all the time. Keep checking on him that he doesn't get sick from that vomiting: fluid can go into the lungs and cause pneumonia.

Thank you so very much for all your wonderful advice and wisdom! I was in a panic seeing the cat stop breathing for almost a minute! He is doing okay now, Snow turns out to be a very sweet and gentle cat as he’s growing up. I think I am too attached to cats now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

By the way, how many days would I know that the white cat is not having lung trouble!?

He will stop eating. He needs to go to the vet urgently if this happens

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kaminchan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94