ALWAYS ASK YOURSELF THIS QUESTION... #PhilosophicalMonday

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Much if what we do and say during the course of a week is completely unnecessary. Meetings, material possessions, confrontations, pursuits - pointless distraction and problems.

They take us away from tranquility and purpose. A Stoic cuts through these temptations and obligations by asking this question. Try it. Before speaking, acting or buying something, ask simply:

"IS THIS ONE OF THE NECESSARY THINGS?"

-Daily Stoic Journal

Question Ask.jpg


Back to Philosophic Monday Times <3

Now, depending how old are you and what your life looks like, you will relate to this differently. I just noticed for myself that whenever I look back at my day I can find a lot of unnecessary things. Things I shouldn't have worried about. Things I gave too much attention or meaning.

These things could be as simple as wasting time of social media, worrying that I might be late for meeting or getting frustrated & emotionally affected with some drunk guy screaming in public transport.

Oddly as I became older I started caring more where I put my attention and time in and quote above from "Daily Stoic Journal" perfectly illustrates this idea and gives simple actionable step.

either way,
wuabalaba dub dub fist (1).png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56