RAINBOW YAMS ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œ

in #esteem โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Hello My Dearest Foodies,

When I bought these yams, I knew one was orange inside, but I wasn't sure about the other two. I was hoping for purple, because I was looking for one for a while, however, I did not expect to get one yellow. I actually didn't know until they were all baked and I cut them in half. It was quite a lovely surprise, because they looked so pretty side by side. I know you are wondering why I didn't take photo of them at that point, but the lighting in my kitchen is casting too much shadows and I am tired to deal with it, especially now with my achy hands, lol. And I didn't have my photoshoot lighting set up yet. Nevertheless, I still like the purple one the most especially in combination with the lime green color of the dressing and Edamame. Not to forget, the purple yam has quite different, but very tasty flavor and texture. Also, make sure you serve it with steamed, garlicky, baby spinach, topped with roasted pine nuts.

tv6589czr4.jpg

RAINBOW YAMS
Oven Baked Yams Loaded with Edamame Beans & Served Tahini Spinach Dressing
Vegan โ€“ Gluten Free
Author: Lenaโ€™s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS
โ€ข Yams 3 (same, all rainbow colors)
โ€ข Edamame beans frozen 1 ยฝ cup
โ€ข Sprouts to garnish
โ€ข Oil
โ€ข Himalayan Pink Salt

PROCESS
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 375F.
โ€ข Make an incision on each potato and bake for 40 min.
โ€ข When ready, cut each potato in half and scoop out 1 tbs from each half.
โ€ข Place each half on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
โ€ข Brush lightly with oil and add salt.
โ€ข Set the oven to broil and bake for 10 more minutes.
โ€ข When ready, top with Edamame, dressing, sprouts and serve.

NOTE
It goes well with steamed baby spinach topped with roasted pine nuts.

4e592jnuhi.jpg

FOR THE DRESSING
โ€ข Baby Spinach ยฝ cup
โ€ข Tahini 3tbs
โ€ข Cashews ยฝ cup presoaked overnight and rinsed (or vegan mayo ยผ cup)
โ€ข Juice from 2 lemons
โ€ข Garlic powder to taste
โ€ข Black pepper to taste
โ€ข Himalayan Pink salt to taste
โ€ข Water ยผ cup (you may add more if needed)
Blend all in a blender until smooth.

0ikh0oaj7e.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
FOR RECIPES PLEASE VISIT MY Lena's Vegan Living Blog

qp7kqls8bm.gif

xwy27mmtjs.gif

xvn49swa4x.png

Sort: ย 

Howdy Miss Lena! wow I never even heard of purple yams but I bet they have to be really good. They look wonderful like you said with that sauce! This is another beautiful post, great job!

Howdy Janton! Yes they are really good, especially with that sauce that makes them not only look good, but also extra flavorful. Thank you so much for stopping by and for your lovely comment. I appreciate it very much๐Ÿ˜Š

Howdy Miss Lena! how are you? You have been very busy? How is your hand that was hurting?

Howdy Janton, I was just doing laundry today, but now I am back again catching up here. My hand is better, thank you for asking, but I have to keep taking antibiotics for another week. By the way, my left hand surgery is not going to be until November, because my surgeon is fully booked until August already. However, I don't want to do it at summertime or early fall when the weather is still nice. So I booked it for early November; just enough time to heal for the Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜Š

howdy again Miss Lena! well that's a great plan you have there but it's astounding that the surgeon is booked until August! wow, talk about job security..he can't afford to get sick or his schedule gets even tougher. I'm glad your hand is better, I knew it would be, you can't keep a good woman down!

When you right you right Janton. About my surgeon and about me and my hand. Thank you! You are such an gentleman ๐Ÿ˜Š

well you are very kind and you are very welcome. I try my best. lol.

I love yams and those just look like a real treat yummy

Thank you so much my Friend ๐Ÿ˜Š

You got a 15.96% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @lenasveganliving! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

Simple, easy and so beautiful! The colors of those yams are so lovely!

Thank you so much my Dear, I am happy you like them ๐Ÿ˜

That is beautiful. Reminds me of tacos which are very trendy off of food trucks. Trendy because they are so beautiful like your yams :)

Tacos? Wow! Well I have to make those too! Thank you so much Steven, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

What a fun surprise! I love how vibrant the purple ones are. I haven't had any of those in a while, but usually the Whole Foods nearby has some. The farmers market usually only has the typical orange flesh ones. That topping looks scrumptious, too. Lots of antioxidants to keep you healing up! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you so much Katie, I am glad you like it. The purple ones are really delicious and the dressing add it interesting flavor over all ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ‘Œ

it looks delicious as always ๐Ÿ˜

Thank you so much Sweetie ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’–

Unusual..yams not readily available in South Africa..........would sweet potatoes do instead?
Nyummmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21