SPRING BORSCHT 🌸🌿🌸

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

It's been a while since I made a Borscht; even though, I don't know why I waited so long, because I absolutely love it.

As many of you may know, borscht has an Eastern European origin and it's primarily ingredient are red beets. All other ingredients can wary, which is perfect for us vegans, because we can add all sorts of veggies and pulses as I did in my recipe. I also added beet root powder at the end for an extra nutrition, but you don't have to. The other great thing about this soup is that it can be eaten hot or cold, so it's perfect for anytime of year. Although I call it SPRING BORSCHT, since the long awaited spring is finally here.

1oeoyasfpg.jpg

SPRING BORSCHT
Red Beet based Borscht with Beans & Dill
Vegan – Gluten Free
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS
• Kidney Beans 2 cups (soaked overnight)
• Water 2 cups (you may add more if needed)
• Red Beets 3 shredded
• Carrots 3 shredded
• Parsnip 3 pealed & shredded
• Red cabbage ¼ shredded
• Onion cut into 4 quarters
• Garlic 6 cloves minced
• Black pepper to taste
• Bay leaf 4
• Organic Veggie broth 2 cups
• Apple Cider vinegar to taste (optional)
• Rice flour ½ cup (or gluten free flour of your choice)
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
• Beet root powder ¼ cup (optional)
• Oil 1tbs (Grape seed or oil of your choice)
• Fresh dill ½ cup (stems removed)
• Vegan sour cream

PROCESS
• Rinse the beans, add two cups of water, bay leaf and bring it to boil.
• Turn down the heat, cover with lid and let it simmer for 1 hour.
• When ready, bring it back to boil, add the beets, carrots, parsnip, cabbage, onion and veggie broth with salt and pepper. You may remove the bay leaf first.
• Turn down the heat and let it simmer for one more hour.
• Sauté the garlic and it add to the soup. Try to scoop the garlic in a way that you leave most of the oil in the skillet.
• Whisk the flour with 2 cups of water and add it to the soup.
• Mix it thoroughly, bring it to the boil for 1 minute and then take it away from the heat.
• On the end, add the dill and Apple Cider vinegar if you like and stir thoroughly.
• You may add beet root powder for extra nutrition.
• Serve topped with vegan sour cream.

gru08i32b7.jpg

VEGAN SOUR CREAM RECIPE
• Cashews 1 cup (soaked for six hours and rinsed)
• Juice from 1 lemon
• Garlic powder 1 tsp
• Nutritional yeast 1/2 tbs
• Water ¼ cup
• Himalayan pink salt to taste
Blend all in a blender until smooth.

krj9zp902q.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
FOR RECIPES PLEASE VISIT MY Lena's Vegan Living Blog

qp7kqls8bm.gif

xdtrk7rypl.png|

xvn49swa4x.png

Sort:  

Oh yeah! Nice one I have to make one of these one day soon

Thank you so much Michel, it's easy to make 😊

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much 😃

OMG dear this look so yummy! Wonderful pictures❤

Thank you so much Denisse 😍

You are welcome dear Lena🌼❤

Beautiful photos! I love borscht and it is certainly the prettiest soup there is. I made a big pan full last fall and still have a few small containers full in the freezer. I need to remember to eat them soon!

I would freeze some too, but I gave half to my daughter. Next time I have to make more and freeze some. Thank you so much Dear Melinda, you are very sweet. Enjoy your soup 🌸😍🌸

It looks awesome and those great colors, beautiful dear!

Thank you so much Sweetie, I am glad you like it 🌸😍🌸

Muy exquisita su receta,espero me visite cuando lo desee,cracias por dejarme entrar en su blog y ver sus lindos trabajos,saludos desde venezuela,me imagino sabe por las necesidades que estamos pasando amiga.

Howdy Miss Lena! Well this is one of the most strikingly pleasant soups I've ever seen visually it's stunning! And the ingredients are amazingly healthy, even the sour cream recipe is super healthy, I need to try that too! This is a gorgeous post.

Striking you say! That is quite a compliment! It is very healthy that's for sure, so I highly recommend. You can make a big pot and freeze few containers for later. Thank you so much for stopping by and for such a lovely comment 😊

howdy again Miss Lena! hey is that Borscht have a strong beet taste to it? Because beets is one of the things that I don't like the taste of but because it is so healthy I've had beet powder and beet drinks but nothing would be as healthy as your recipe. lol.

The taste is very good with all the other ingredients, because especially dill, garlic, apple cider vinegar and the sour cream. And also ,because is shredded. You must try and you'll see it's very savoury.

ok thanks. And it's one of the healthiest dishes in the world, is that an Old World dish? I mean something from Slovenia?

Howdy Janton. Oh yes, it is an old world dish! You mean Slovakia. The Borscht is more of a Ukrainian, but close enough, lol.

I'm sorry I get the European countries confused Miss Lena! lol. Thanks for the correction.

No big deal Janton, I am glad to give you a little European geography lesson, lol.

I'm glad to have seen this blog @lenasveganliving I've only eaten Borscht once when living in China and thoroughly enjoyed it. I am keen to try this recipe myself as it is so healthy and also very delicious. (U & R )

In China? That is very surprising, because it is not a Chinese recipe. Nevertheless, I am glad you enjoyed it and you are planning to make it one yourself. This recipe is very easy, so I hope it will be success. Thank you so much Dear Trudee 🌸😍🌸

That's what I thought too Lena when Borscht was on the menu in China. I probably wouldn't have tried if an Aussie friend hadn't recommended it. It really was delicious.

That is a quite fascinating Borscht story, lol.

Yummy! Try this with a Maibock. You won't regret it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02