Dealing With Divas

in #esteem5 years ago

Dear Daniel,


I swear some people irritate me. I asked my producer for female actor applicants. I got a grand total of 1. After a series of irritating emails during which I found out she had never been a lead or a supporting actress in any of her films. She wanted to know if it paid, when I told her the terms she opted, rather disrespectfully not to “bother with taping for me”. She is no doubt rather proud of her handling of the situation.

I often have to remind myself that some people aren’t experienced enough to know how to choose their words wisely. Or maybe they don’t know how disrespectful they said sound when turning a certain type work. Others like tonight, the actor in question clearly has a high opinion of herself and her talents but I look at her resume and nothing about it justifies the attitude with which she addressed me.

It’s not the end of the world. And she isn’t the first one to hit me with this attitude while I’ve been casting for Letters to Daniel. A handful of people said with their actions ‘I’m too good for your film.’

Really I should thank them. Divas are an unwanted presence when filming a guerilla independent film.

People tell me 8 days isn’t enough.

I say watch me.

I say 8 days is a luxury.

I say the current cast is amazing. Only 4 more roles to fill. The two leads and two non-speaking roles. Bridgett and Natalie. Then the leads, Amy and Missy.

It’s hard to judge the leads but the talent pool for Amy and Missy has been shallow. No one really blowing us away. And in order for this film to work they have to do just that. The success or failure rises and falls on the chemistry and talent of our leads.

I’ve yet to see someone get right the whole way through. Our initial picks walked away from the production. Which is a shame. But that just means they weren’t meant to be a part of our production.

Not only is 8 days a luxury we have more crew members than I’ve ever had on set. I have an art director doubling as hair and make-up. A script supervisor who is highly organized and is making my life easier. A DP who an amazing talent and a skilled director in his own right. An editor with 22 years experience and is a director in his own right. A composer who is ridiculously talented. A hard working sound woman. And 3 production assistants.

With 40 of 44 cast members cast and most locations nailed down, I’m actively looking forward to my trip to Arkansas to workshop my script with Mark Maness, my DP.

I’ve had this on my heart for a long time. When I was first diagnosed with bipolar disorder 20 years ago I wanted to do something involving my story. And for the longest time I was stymied by the very disease I wanted to raise awareness for.

Now things seem to be coming together. With everyone doing their part, it’s happening. I watched a music video Mark shot and it gave me chills. Letters to Daniel is going to be gorgeous.

Well I won’t be going to Arkansas but I will skyping instead at the end of the month. I can buy my plane ticket to AOF now.

With visions of beautiful shooting days dancing in my head I’m calling it night.

Sincerely,

 

Amy McCorkle


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/dealing-with-divas/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76