Good Day Sunshine

in #esteem5 years ago

Dear Daniel,


It’s been a good day. Maybe not writing wise but as far as film production goes we are now at 40 of 44 roles cast for Letters to Daniel. I plan on location hunting tomorrow. Hopefully I will have the energy to drive out to the Ramada Plaza and Conference Center. If their remodeling is finished in time it would knock out 4 or 5 needed locations.

Tonight was fun. Missy and Pam came over and we watched the SAG Awards. Loved the pretty dresses. And heartwarming speeches. And Black Panther winning best ensemble was the cherry on top of a magnificent sundae.

While I was watching I couldn’t help but lament thinking and knowing that whoever we end up casting as Amy and Missy in Letters to Daniel, since it’s a non-union production they will be ineligible for that award.

But then I look at all the festivals I enter. And the different organizations that give awards out they could very well win some of those if everything goes our way.

It’s been a long and steep road for Letters to Daniel. Equally showered with success and defeat. Now it seems everything is going our way. I’m nailing down the last few locations. Soon me and Mark Maness will workshop the script to see to it we have an amazing shot list.

Now all we need are a few more supporting roles and the two leads. We have list of individuals who are the callback list. And a few who we’ve asked to see more from. I don’t want half baked talent in the movie I want everyone to be convincing in their no matter how small.

And so far we’ve been able to do it.

The leads have been more troublesome. We’ve seen glimpses of what could but no one’s really been a slam dunk yet. So we have callbacks to see who gets stronger/weaker with the full script.

Have asked to see different takes on the material from a couple of different actresses who probably won’t be able to travel to the call backs.

But that moment that happens when you see your character come to life has yet to happen. Glimpses but no one really nailing it. But that’s why you have callbacks and cast a wide net. I plan on posting an ad on Backstage.com for the lead roles. Supporting, featured and extras have been cast.

Except for two non-speaking female roles there’s nothing left to cast except the leads. So we continue the search and hope to have our lead females by March. Even so it’s cutting it close.

Tonight a very exciting thing happened one of my bipolar actor heroes retweeted my fundraiser for Letters to Daniel. Maurice Benard, the reason I knew to seek treatment retweeted my producer’s tweet. Amazeballs.

Anyhow, it’s how you all had as great a day as I did.

Sincerely,

 

Amy McCorkle

 

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/good-day-sunshine/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85