On A Mission

in #esteem5 years ago

Dear Daniel,

I’m on a mission to build a mental health advocacy legacy. Letters to Daniel was just the beginning. What started out as a simple blog has led me on an ever expansive journey. It is has crept into my work and taken root in my soul. The Guardian is my take on many people’s struggle with stigma in the church. People who believe in God but are told they are lacking in some way when in fact it is institutionalized religion that is lacking in understanding. Then Recovery Unplugged. An Intervention meets Oprah style of talk show that I produced 9 proof of concept episodes of and now have laser-like focus pitch. I plan on practicing later on this afternoon.

The latest addition to my mental health advocacy platform is Amy Unplugged. Where I get up and first thing address the masses on topics that affect  the mentally ill and to some degree, personalize them. I had total bed head this morning but I think I’m getting more comfortable in front of the camera.

That being said I did a FB Live that got 40 shares and 550 views and 25 comments without boosting it. My first Amy Unplugged Video has garnered 74 views and the second one which I posted this morning is on track to pass it at 53 views already. These may seem life small numbers but for a series I did no promo for I’m thrilled.

People are hearing my message of hope and inclusion and are responding.

Someone said I was strong willed. I am but bipolar disorder, if not respected for the beast that it is could very easily topple this bedrock of stability I work so hard to maintain.

That said I did something rather impulsive. I won’t say what because it was a shot in the dark and I’ve yet to hear back from said person. So if you here nothing it means it did not pan out. If you here me squeezing you’ll know that it did.

I’m very excited about this expanding platform and I hope it will help launch my speaking career. I don’t know how to go about booking engagements or getting paid for them. Or if anyone outside of my social media platform will want to hear me. But it’s a chance I’m willing to take.

Considering I’m doing my first seminar on thriving creatively while coping with serious mental illness at Imaginarium I am on my way. I dream of inspiring others with bipolar disorder the way Maurice Benard and Daniel Craig have inspired me.

I dream of giving other mentally ill individuals that unique appreciation for their support network though they may test them.

Professionally I dream of seeing Letters to Daniel on the big screen and meeting Daniel Craig.

So I’m working on the first one and searching out a way for Daniel to see the movie. I know I’m not a blip on his radar. He doesn’t even know I exist. But everyone wants a chance to meet their heroes. And I confess I’m not different.

Sincerely,

Amy Leigh McCorkle



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/on-a-mission/
Sort:  

Hello @lettersgrrl! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77