95th Anniversary

in #esteem6 years ago

While going through my old photos from Greece I was reminded of my great Uncle Gus and then noticed that he had married my grandmother's sister, Barbara on Sept. 5th, 1923. Today would have been their 95th wedding anniversary!

image

image

They both died many years ago, but I have good childhood memories of both of them. Seeing this photo of my long ago trip to Greece was what caused me to think of them and decide to do this post today.

image

image

I took a detour up into the mountains of the Peloponese region specifically to see the.village of Tropea where my uncle had been born and lived before he immigrated to the US.

image

I only wish he had still been alive when I visited there. I will always wonder what stories he would told me!

image



Enter your chair shadow photo here!

Shadow Photo Contest Round 34-Chair Shadows

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or eSteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use #esteem as one of your tags, post original content and write at least 50 words for the possibility of an upvote from @good-karma !

Posted with eSteem

image

>

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

howdy melinda010100! oh man I want to go to Greece! If I ever get to go I'll talk to you first for pointers!

You are giving me far too much encouragement to post more photos from Greece! It has been years since I was there, and I'm sure many things have changed

well that may be to some extent but it's my impression that these older European countries are unique in that they don't change drastically, is that true? I think that's part of their charm.

The perfection of this story is very beautiful to remember @melinda010100

Thank you. Good memories for me

very good story, thank you friend

interesting story about a great uncle

Thanks so much!

Yes, you are welcome

Cool that you visited his birthplace. Immigrant stories are always interesting. And usually in ways you don't consider.

Wonderful memories, Melinda. Loved seeing the old photos.

Thanks Jo!. When I realized the date I couldn't resist putting something together.

Thanks! I love old photos!

the post is very good, my best friend ,, I really like it, with the view behind you, because the view is quite beautiful and interesting ,, I really like this thank you for sharing my best friend @melinda010100

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60