Cemetery Photos challenge

in #esteem5 years ago

#Cemeteryphotos Challenge by @melinda01010

I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos. If you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos or links in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them.

Here are just a few of my favorite monuments in Bonaventure Cemetery located on a bluff above the Wilmington River, east of Savannah, Georgia.USA

The cemetery is full of birds and butterflies and Spanish moss!

image

image

The former plantation land has been been used as a cemetery since 1846. Although a cemetery, it was common for families to meet and picnic here on the grassy areas under the beautiful live oak trees.

image

image

To enter the Shadow Contest -

Shadow Photos Round 42- Shoe Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

Cementerio Ingles in Puerto de la Cruz, Islas Canarias.
This small cemetery was built by British residents on the Spanish Island of Tenerife for people of the Protestant faith.
20161105_142452.jpg

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow. It looks like you've got some elaborate stones out that way. I keep running across those Civil War-era graveyards. The stones aren't as fancy, and many are eroded, broken, or toppled. Here are a few well-maintained ones, though.

MM201820180720-EOS_4887.jpg

That is a beautiful photo. I love the way the light is on the golden stubble in the field back behind the cemetery.

I have never seen monuments anywhere like those in Bonaventure Cemetery. It is the cemetery where the bird girl monument from the book The Garden of Good and Evil was at. They've since moved her into a museum for fear of damage after she became so famous from the book and the movie.

I wish I had taken some photos of the cemeteries in Spain. Not that the tombstones were necessarily interesting, but they tended to put them in the middle of castle ruins. Apparently, after the discovery of firearms and canons, castles weren't much protection and they were abandoned. Locals used the site for their cemeteries, because why not?

I haven't heard of the bird girl, actually. It sounds like a good decision to move her to a museum, though, if she's well known.

The bird girl was on the cover of the book and became well known and the family wanted her protected and moved her.

I took pictures of one cemetery in Spain. Not in ground burials, but crypts.

Wow... another poetic gift from @melinda010100... It's a full of peace place... A question, dear friend, how do you call the plants hanging from the trees in some of your photos? I'm preparing a post about them. They are a variety of bromeliads whose scientific name is Tillandsia usneoides and around here we call it a Barba de palo, which you can traslated as Beard of a stick.

This variety is called Spanish moss here and only grows in the southern part of the USA. I will look forward to seeing your post.

Nice photos. I love Spanish moss in cemeteries. Really seems appropriate, fits the mood I guess.

Thanks! It certainly does add to the atmosphere of the charm of the Deep South.

Thanks! It certainly does add to the atmosphere of the charm of the Deep South.

These photos are great. The statues are so perfect!

Thanks! I am so glad we made the decision to visit this cemetery. We went in the late afternoon thinking that the light would be better for taking photos, without realizing the cemetery closed and we only had a few hours that we could be there. We hurried through a couple sections, but there was so much more that we didn't get to see.

They are really good photos. You are a great photographer. Sure there were many beautiful things to take more pictures❤

I don't think I am a really great photographer, I've just been in places where there are beautiful things to take pictures of. The western part of the United States is very beautiful.

They are really beautiful places. Thanks for sharing such beautiful photos

I was very amazed to see the photo you shared today. Exquisite. The statue of a burial place that blends with nature, you get the right moment for this beautiful result
My full appreciation
Thanks for this @melinda010100

The monuments in that cemetery are works of art! It is a beautiful place to visit! I'm glad you enjoyed seeing it.

Yes, my inner eyes see extraordinary art

howdy tonight melinda010100! wow I've never seen sculptures like that in a cemetery! amazing.

I don't think there are many cemeteries like this one. It is such a beautiful place.

howdy tonight Melinda! well...the cost it took to make some of those statues and sculptures had to be a fortune!

No kidding! I was shocked at how expensive the simple stone was that I bought after Jim died. While I was looking I saw a few that were over $10, 000 and they were nothing like these.

oh my..well it looked like at least one of these is a sculpture of the person like that little girl, I can't imagine what that would cost!
First of all, who could do that type of work?
hey is the Engagement League off this week?

The little girl monument is supposed to look just like her. Her name was Gracie and she was well known in Savannah because her dad managed the hotel and all the guests were charmed by her. She got sick and died and many of the prominent hotel guests we're heartbroken. She is one of the famous ghosts in Savannah. People claim to see her playing in the streets

Yes. I don't know if we just have the week off or if Asher is adding the two weeks together. I never saw where he answered that question.

how interesting about the Savannah story, I've always heard that Savannah was a wonderful place to visit with all the historic architecture and everything.
I'll ask Glen about the contest, he always knows everything!

He indicated in a comment to me that he thought we had the week off.

Butterflies and Spanish Moss are both romantic and beautiful and can be eerie. My love for cemeteries is no secret. I always admire your photos of the many, many that you have ventured through!

Here is my link: https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@dswigle/4afb5y-tree-tuesday

Trees, greenery and beautiful statues makes a cemetery more cheerful.

They do and this one is particularly beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94