Kandylakia

in #esteem6 years ago

Kandylakia

While traveling in Greece I was fascinated by these beautiful roadside shrines. I learned that they are known as Kandylakia. They were clearly visible on the edges of the narrow winding mountainous roads, and when I asked I was told they commemorate lives lost, often in automobile accidents. Some are built to celebrate miracles that have occurred.

image

Inside are icons of saints There was usually a floating wick candle that was always burning, even though it seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. Often there were flowers and personal items.

image

Usually made of wood, stone, metal or concrete, they are clear reminders to slow down and drive with caution.

image

image

image

image



Enter your hand shadow photo here!

Hand Shadows no.2

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or eSteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use #esteem as one of your tags, post original content and write at least 50 words for the possibility of an upvote from @good-karma !

Posted with eSteem

image

>

Sort:  

You can also find these in a few places in Portugal @melinda010100

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

For me, things like these little shrines always serve as a reminder that I am truly in a foreign country... very different traditions and ideas.

=^..^=

I love coming across traditions like this that are common there and totally unkown to me. It is all our differences that make it sych a great world!

I prefer to think they are celebrating a miracle :) but sadly I'm sure many are not. Beautiful in any case. Interesting post @melinda010100

Thanks. Some of them are outside of rural churches along the road. In this day and age they've had to lock many of their churches to prevent vandalism and theft so they build these outside by the road so the people can still come by and light candles and say a prayer.

Check out my new post. Very nice shadow :) Farm stand post.

good posts, congratulations and success my sister

Thanks so much!

These are very interesting. I like the 4th one down that looks a little like it is made of miniture bricks.

Thanks! I didn't take nearly enough photos of all the various ones I saw.

Thank you for sharing these photos of your trip to Greece and share with us their culture and traditions

There are so many different cultures to experience when you travel!

Good post . Bless you dear melinda

Thank you so much!

Beautiful shrines.

Thanks. There were so many variations of them

They are neat because they are built with good strong materials.

They are built to be permanent, aren't they?

Yes. Also, most of the material is made from composite material that looks like real wood, so it will resist the weather.

Fantastic shots and I remember being fascinated by shares when I saw these as well

I like the distinct differences that each of these have. They are fascinating

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97