Pretty intruders

in #esteem6 years ago

Why do some invasive species have to be so darn pretty?

This muliflora rose just appeared at the edge of my woods this year.

image

I thought it was lovely until I read that it is extremely prolific and can form impenetrable thickets that exclude native plants species. It's seeds can last in the soil for up to 10 years.

image

And then there is Dames Rocket.

image

It is extremely prolific and quickly crowds out native plants. Our road ditches are full of it, but so far I am only seeing a few plants here in the woods.

image

image

I am worried that our native woodland plants don't stand a chance.

This Solomon's Seal is growing across the road and is on the endangered species list in several states.

image

image

It is not very showy and is not very prolific and I suspect the three plants that are growing there hardly stand a chance.

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or the new esteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use 'esteem' as one of your tags, and write at least 50 words for the possibilities an upvote!

steemit-border

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile& PC app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC
Available for all OS Github


This week's Shadow Contest Winners

Round 21 Winners-Kitchen Shadows

Sort:  

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I am glad that this flower is so perfect!
and what a nice photo. Thank you for sharing with us, my dear friend. hugs

Many thanks!! And hugs, too!

Almost all the plants in my yard are invasive. I always let them be... that's why I have a jungle instead of a backyard... :|

Yeah, not a bad attitude! I feel bad that so many of our native plants are being lost...so many of the animals and insects are dependent on them. When our road ditches fill up with invasive species, there is no longer room for milkweed, and monarch butterflies need milkweed to survive. It changes the circle of life.

True and sad at the same time.

Then cut it off since it's an intruder

There are so many these days that it has become nearly impossible. I battled against them for years, but they are winning.

Use fumigation chemicals

This little looks so beautiful. 😍

We have the same problem here in Canada, but I ma quite intrigued by the Salomon's Seal. I just discovered this flower this year in our neighborhood on couple of properties. But thank you for the name, because I had no idea what it was. I was planning ti do Google search. Beautiful shots Dear Melinda 🌸💖🌸

I took my daughter over yesterday to show it to her. It was one she did not know. It turns the prettiest colors in the fall.

I have to keep an eye on it. Thank you for letting me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77