Sublimely Beautiful

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

I live about an hours drive fron the Mississippi River and it is the perfect destination when you just want to get out of town and have a change of scenery.

image

image

The river starts in Minnesota and flows 2350 miles until it reaches the Gulf of Mexico. It is home to a variety of fish and wildlife and is an especially good spot to go for eagle watching. It is impossible for me to be over along the river without thinking of Mark Twain and his literary characters Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn and imagining myself on a raft trip down the river.

image

image

The Rock River, that flows past my house, travels 299 miles and drains into the Mississippi. So, if I went into the backyard and put a canoe in the river and had plenty of time for portaging around all the dams and locks between here and there I could make it to New Orleans!
image

image

Here is the link for this week's Shadow Contest

Laundry Shadows-Round 38



Posted with eSteem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

the view of the river is very beautiful very good your posts @melinda010100

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

Good luck with the NO trip. 😁 Beaitful views!

I guess I'm probably going to have to be satisfied with the trip we did a couple years ago in the car! Pretty sure my paddling days are behind me. But all that has been a lifelong dream of mine, that and also paddling all the way around Lake Superior. Oh well, these days it's good enough to read about other people's adventures, while I'm sitting comfortably in my living room and remembering all the wonderful adventures that I did get to have!

Good luck! and great pictures!

Thanks.... I can always dream!

My dear this place is so beautiful😍

It is a magnificent River. A couple years ago Jim and I drove along the river all the way down to the Gulf of Mexico. I loved getting to see how it changes as more and more big rivers flow into it.

I am sure that you and Jim enjoyed driving and seeing so much beauty that nature gives us. Thank you Mel for sharing these beautiful photos❤

It was a really fun road trip. And it helped us miss the last few weeks of winter here in Wisconsin. That was a bonus!

Sure they enjoyed it a lot and good to get away from the cold was pretty good...👍

very beautiful. I remember learning to spell Mississippi growing up.
I grew up about 45 mins drive time from the Gulf of Mexico.
I enjoyed your post :)

Learning to spell that big long word was quite an achievement as a kid, wasn't it? Which state did you grow up in?

It was a game we said the letters real fast. Fun! I grew up in Texas, the Lone Star State.
The one I had to learn to spell was my first name. lol
Have a wonderful day. :)

really beautiful view of the river

Thank you! It is an impressive river!

There is so much variety in the landscape here, what a great way to spend a Sunday Melinda.

I love going for drives over along the river. It doesn't even matter what the season is. It is beautiful all year round.

Have yoy been over to the river? Too bad that silly lake gets in the way. 😉 It wouldn't be that far for you to drive if didn't have to go around the lake! 😀

No, I haven't been to the river. And yes...going around the lake certainly does ad to the length of the trip! Looks like a beautiful place to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84