Sunday morning hurricane update

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

We are in our 5th straight day of relentless rain here in North Carolina thanks to hurricane florence. The storm has died down from a category 4 hurricane considered "the storm of a lifetime" to just tropical storm at this point. An extremely slow moving tropical storm at that, so we are just getting dumped on day after day.

It seems like every day there is a new challenge for us to over come. Thursday night we lost power and are expecting that to be out for atleast a week or more. Friday night we lost our water pressure which makes flushing toilets a lot more difficult because we have water to add water to the tank every time we want to flush and we only have 100 gallons of potable water and have no clue how long we will be without water pressure.

And as of Saturday morning we even lost our cell phone service and internet, we only have spotty roaming which works for text messages but they are even delayed quite a bit. I posted this article when I ran into town to get more gas for my generator. I'm not out of gas yet but I don't want to run out and I'm going stir crazy sitting in a house all day with nothing to do so I figured since the rain isn't terrible this morning I'd venture out and see the damage around my area quick.

All things said tho we are doing fine, we were lucky and still have no damage to our home. I wish I could say the same for my neighbor across the street with the horse ranch. He had a tree branch pierce his roof and he said with all the relentless rain fall he couldn't repair it quick so his house is now totalled because it has gone into his walls! I guess we were luckier than I thought.

Anyhow, for now I am just treating this like a camping trip without power, water, internet or cell service lol. However I am hoping it's over soon because it is hot and extremely humid here and a little bit of air conditioning and a shower would be amazing at this point.

Well I am about to head back home and I have to send this out now while I have reception and internet. Thank you to everyone who has been so supportive throughout this all, I really do appreciate it and I am so sorry I haven't been able to reply back to all ur good vibes/wishes.

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

dont worry about replying dude...worry about getting yall safe for if the situation doesnt improve for the next couple of days.

sucks for your neighbor!! yeah, a house can break down faster than you always think actually

Dam dude! I haven't been online much to know of the hurricane! Sounds crazy over there, and i've been in that position hiding from weather almost imprisoned by it, candles and a board game?
hey for the toilet situation you could make a composting toilet, a barrel and some sawdust?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

It sounds like you have been very lucky indeed @moderndayhippie. I am glad to hear it. I hope it continues to stay that way and things will be back to normal very soon. 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hang in there dude.

Yikes, that speed limit sign though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87