Natter over natas

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

I met a friend at a cosy cafe where we could have a natter whilst enjoying natas.

I can hear you saying, “MoMoGrow - what are you talking about?”
Well this is where our cross-cultural multi-cultural world adds some delight in our lives.

According to the Oxford dictionary:
natter is to talk casually, especially on unimportant matters; chat.

...and nata or Pastel de nata is a Portuguese custard tart.

Both these n - words, I love to partake in but my indulgence in nata is what I will now natter on about.
5C3538FD-4B2D-4AC5-8FD2-BE6EAA4C0FEB.jpeg
Natas -The World Needs Nata Amsterdam

We enjoyed this amazing dessert at a cafe that believes that the World needs Nata - this is not an exaggeration - that is the cafe’s name. I tend to agree with them. 😀
Natas originate in Belém, Lisbon - they are served slightly warm with a sprinkling of cinnamon - powdered sugar is optional.

  • After biting into its flaky pastry with its perfectly caramelised top then tasting its creamy center - you will decide that they are simply mouthwatering.
  • You will want to savor every single bite - every single morsel, every single flake.
  • You will know what I mean after you have tasted them.
  • You will want more - it is hard to eat only one!

This Portuguese dessert is in a class of its own and can take its place amongst the best French or Italian desserts.

After purchasing natas too often, I decided to try to make my own. It took some effort to make the pastry but it was well worth it.

These photos are from my first attempt. I have made then 4 times - they now shape and look better. The end result tasted pretty amazing (my family agrees - they are my best critics).
8A45AC9B-BE5F-44C0-8E6E-A4090B4D8BE3.jpeg

I have also done the easy version by using supermarket bought puff pastry. It tastes the same.

I watched many videos on the internet in order to get an idea. Then I made my natas without measuring.
85F7006C-F391-4175-B18F-769291282060.jpeg

Basically, this recipe is an egg custard - hence a custard (milk or cream with flour, egg yolks and vanilla) sweetened with a syrup (sugar and water) mixed together and poured in cups made of flaky pastry then baked. The recipes boiled the cinnamon stick and lemon rind in the milk or syrup. I chose the syrup.
Here is a video, with the steps and measurements.

If you make these Portuguese Custard Tarts - I hope you will kind them as tasty and delicious as I do. They are perfect with a steamy cup of coffee or tea. 😀

Please let me know.

Sort:  

Oh! Pastel de nata is on my list few years.. 🤤🤤I have to try it !!!

You definitely should try them - you will not be disapoointed.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86