story of a successful physician

in #esteem6 years ago

When I was in fifth year, my eldest daughter Sifat was born. The day before my labor pain began, I attended Suraiya Jabeen madam's lecture on ovarian tumor. That very evening, I got admitted in her clinic. She was very surprised to see me. She went like, 'Weren't you there in the class today, what are you doing here now?' I joined evening ward classes just 9 days after Sifat was born. Everyone was taken by surprise. That little girl of mine is assistant registrar at DMC now. She's doing her MS in cardiothoracic surgery at present.
Immediately after completing internship, I joined the pediatrics department of PG hospital as honorary officer, under Professor MR Khan Sir. Sir used to give me a lot of work. One day I directly asked him, and he replied, 'Because I know you can do it.' Likewise, he used to inspire me in so many different ways. I got an opportunity to attend medical education program abroad when I was registrar in DMC, after passing FCPS. Everything was almost confirmed, but then my second daughter Mashiat was born, and I couldn't go. But you can never know what fate has in store for you. She is the only one among my daughters, who is studying abroad. She's doing her master's in MD Anderson cancer center in Houston, USA. She has also participated in many international debates.
I have always continued my studies, besides looking after my family. The mentality to face challenges in life, not being intimidated by the ups and downs of life - I have learned all these from my mother. I passed FCPS in pediatrics at first chance. I used to find this subject interesting from the very beginning. After completing MD in pediatrics, I found my new passion in neonatology, and then, completed MD in this subject later on. I have utmost dedication towards my profession. I inspect each and every patient with care, and as a result, I've also received their love always. Whenever I go shopping with my family, I often get to meet previous patients. When I see their love for me, I feel that my hard work has paid off.
My youngest daughter Musharrat, the day her medical admission results were to come out, we sat in front of the laptop together. I had my eyes shut. I couldn't believe it at first, that she got into one of the medical colleges in Dhaka! We just grabbed each other and screamed out of joy. My daughter is now a student at my alma mater. Nothing could make me happier.
First and foremost I'd like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to Allah, the Almighty. And of course to the father to my children, who has always stood by me and still is the constant source of my inspiration. He has always encouraged me to study, and now gives the same motivation to my girls. If I ever get called away on an emergency duty, he drops me to the car. He waits till I return home, just so that he gets to open the door when I knock.
My siblings have always been supportive too. And my colleagues, who have always been by my side throughout my career. I've always felt deeply about my work, my profession. That is why I dream, to work relentlessly, to further improve the neonatal care in Bangladesh. image

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story. This why I love steemit: we get to know each other in ways that were not possible before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64