Friday Rock | #3

in #esteem5 years ago

It is #Fridaysrock, created by @nat-expressions and I am pleased to show the fossil of some little creatures. Like the mineral kit from my previous post (you have a look if you have missed it here), I bought this fossil from Barcelona. It was a small shop in the L'illa shopping center. There were different stones and minerals, but this was something unusual and interesting to give as a present. My son apart from interested in collecting minerals, liked to read and learn about dinosaurs and even thinking to become paleontologist at that time.. So, it was a nice one to bring home from my trip.

image


I don't know about you, but I think the one on the left is a small fish.


image


No idea what the other two are. But do you see the spine of the bottom one?


image


The trouble is I did not understand what the shop assistant was explaining. I didn't speak Spanish or Catalan and she didn't speak any English. So, I end up with this fossil and she managed to convince me somehow to buy also a tooth of prehistoric animal. Which may not be so prehistoric at all.

Have a look.


image


These two pieces are pretty small. You can see their size from the image below.


image


If you can recognize what cretaues formed that fossil or whom the tooth belonged, I would be glad to read your comments.


DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting, upvoting and resteeming.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

Awesome fossils you have 💎 @nelinoeva!
They look like fish in a limestone matrix, no idea
the kind of fish other than squished lol
The tooth looks like a fossil sharks tooth, I have
one from years ago they told me was a few
million years old great white shark.

Do you have any quarries around your area?
There was some good ones in Germany I found
some shell fossils at long ago.

Thank you very much for the nice comment. 😀

I was never been into rock hunring but I guess there are quarries in my area, where can be found some shell fossils too.

Very cool you got something trapped in that stone, I am not sure what it is but I see what you mean.. Looks like something with a spine.

great rock!

Thank you. 😀
I wish I could find such rock myself instead of buying.it.

Fossils are so interesting to look at and make you realize that the rock was not always a rock! An interesting look back in time!

Indeed, there is so much hidden in the rocks and fossils can tell so much about the past.

Thank you for joining #fridaysrock. I've always been interested in fossils because they are a window into the past. This is a really nice piece.

Just imagine how many more are still waiting to be discovered and what we can learn about the past from them.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00