Disturbing Rhetoric on Air Safety

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


aj81tb1eey.png

I will begin by saying that I am no expert on the subject so I am open to be convinced otherwise about the coming rant. The photo above was one of my recent business trips that I flew across the US. While I believe that it wasn’t this one that I was on a 737 Max airplane manufactured by Boeing, I know for a fact that in one of my trips this year I was indeed in one of those models. Despite years of traveling for business and pleasure (I did live on an island for 20 years so bo choice), I have never been a fan of flying. Whereas people kickback and enjoy the flights, I take the time to read and work to keep my mind occupied during the flight. Luckily for me, at the moment I have no pending trips that require me to get on a plane!

The news that has been going around is quite disturbing when you look between the lines. I do not like hearing or reading news these days but given my interest on the subject, I have found myself glued to reading through the details, however fantastic or biased they may be. I have continued to be in awe about the disrespect we have customers and flyers have been given in the process as it seems that many of the issues have been known and given the forces of those controlling media, government and business have misdirected the issues.

To summarize as most of it is already out, the newest of the Boeing 737 fleets the 8 & 9 have now been involved in two accidents in the past 5 months claiming the lives of hundreds of passengers and crew members. The second that raised the question around the world was a couple of days ago and was similar in that the accident occurred shortly after takeoff. There seems to be a technical issue with the auto-pilot that makes the plane stall and lose its speed and thus the ascent. Talk about scary! Many continue to state that pilots that see experienced and well trained are well able to manage the situation to avoid catastrophe but the underlying issue is that there has been an issue for five months with no public disclosures even as those stakeholders have been involved in training and fixing the issue. That is the first disturbing issue.


o8i6g88bcw.png

However, the disgust does not end there as the United States were the last to ground the planes despite efforts of the airlines and the manufacturer to convince (successfully) the regulator (FAA) to allow the continuation of flights despite the risks involved! In fact, as the President announced the grounding, there were 35 flights in the air of these planes! When you hear this, it makes you think what are they thinking and who they care about?

When I first heard about the bans across Europe and being business minded first; I thought it was more a play by Airbus and its home region as a play to give an advantage over Boeing in reputation and negotiations as they constantly compete over new fleets. However, when you start to see the details of the players involved, it gets disgusting. For example, without mentioning names as it is not the point, the Board of Directors of these interested Companies are all former administration leaders in high governmental positions. The recent Ambassador to the UN just recently accepted another Board seat! To add injury to insult, it was said that they spent $50 million in lobbying last year in Washington. I know this isn’t normal for me but the only word I can think of for this is disgusting.

I started writing this thinking that the government would fail to act due to the pressures from above and am honestly at some ease when seeing the action taken. However, this was a disturbing display of power and control of the few over the safety and wellbeing of the masses. And for what? Profits of a couple of couple of planes and flights which represent such a low percentage of the total! As more spoke about this, other issues were raised such as the outsourcing of many maintenance programs of these airlines outside the US where regulations of the processes are more relaxed as well as the impact the government shutdown for inspections that are now delayed and unable to secure due process for certain reviews in the industry.

I am glad that my next trip is not on the calendar yet as I will be considering alternatives given the response by those mandated to ensure our safety in the air. My options may be limited but I would be willing to leverage more technology via video conferencing to remain safe. I even think trains could be an alternative if adequately planned. However, that industry has also suffered from similar issues of safety in the past due to similar issues! The possibilities are endless as we open our eyes to realize what is going on...

This article was written throughout the day so some was done before the eventual news of the grounding of the planes

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Having read nothing about the issue other than to see a few clips about the article I can say.

I would assume some sort of root cause investigation was done once and is being done again. It's hard enough working in industry to cure a constant issue let alone one that destroys all your evidence when it fails. Especially when human intervention is involved.

Flying is still safer than driving everywhere so just because this is getting national attention those that are drawing attention to it are getting money for said attention just like Boeing is trying to keep it out of the news to prevent from losing money.

My suggestion wait for 6 months to a year and look up the issue again. I would assume some official investigation will have been released that leaves hype and emotion out of it and just leave you with the facts. I've found with most disasters there are some assholes that all they care about is money, but for the most part it's people trying to do the right thing, but just missing some minor detail.

Regardless of what you decide hope your travels are smooth and uneventful whatever you decide.

Great perspective as I myself has subsided a bit since yesterday but it will sure impact the future way I think of travel!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is very scary knowing some things my friend has told me working on these planes. The maintenance and inspections should be much much tighter...you can never be too safe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Agree which has led me to reconsider options going forward which should not be happening thee days given the technology that has been built.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Money talks in this world it's more valued then people always remember that

Posted using Partiko Android

I can sadly agree...

Posted using Partiko iOS

This 737 incident is really scary and now many countries have stopped its operations. Human lives are more important than anything else so this precaution measure is good by the govt.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85