Monthly Fitness Update (March 2019)

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


cr3dguplth.jpg

Source

We are now a quarter of the way through the year and it is always a great time to stop and evaluate the progress we have made in all of our efforts that we set forth at the beginning of the year. For me, I wanted to focus on certain areas of my fitness and health as last year was very difficult for me to maintain my weight as it has been throughout my adult life. The main change that I have implemented during this time has been my strict adherence to my diet. I believe that the results have demonstrated how powerful diets can influence and not only the well-being but the metrics that we track.


9cjvehtx3i.png

I am happy to see that despite some stagnating metrics seen during the period, I now find myself only a couple of pounds away from reaching my goal. When I set my goal at the beginning of the year I was not as aggressive as I have been in my past because my objective was to set a goal that was reasonable and achievable in order to maintain my motivation. I also want to create a base weight where I can build upon into my next phase of my longer term goals. this will be more related to my body composition where I want to focus on enabling my body to have better flexibility and strength in search of a more healthy body.


3eb7vs6yau.png

I was a little concerned about this metric has towards the end of the period I could not resist and fell into a cheat day while I was on vacation in Columbia. in the past, I was much more strict about cheating in varying from my diet but the reality is that with so much other things going around in my life such as a busy workload, sometimes strain from the line helps keep our sanity. Luckily, the cheap day did not hinder my progress as when I returned I have found a rhythm on my diet once again. I have also started to be more focused on doing Intermittent Fasting on a daily basis. My eating window is now down to 4-6 hours a day. Some supplements, like Fasted, has helped me achieve this in conjunction with my love for coffee. I am currently aggressively pursuing this strategy as I want to prepare for another upcoming trip that I have with the family which I have already determined to be my next cheat period for my diet. I will try to get prepared to load during that time in an effort to not fall behind my longer term goals.


8xce8k2emc.png

Where I have been most consistent has been in my ability to get at least minimum spouts of activity within my daily routines. With the exception of the days that I was on the island reading and relaxing during my vacation, I was able to achieve each daily goal last month. This has become easier for me as I have been treating these sessions as more of a therapy during some tough periods that I have had in the office. while I have not been able to really mix up my training other than add some more weight training in the mix, I have benefited from separating the time to get him break a sweat on a daily basis. I have also seen the benefit of having more than one session a couple of days a week. however, I believe that the next couple of months as things start to settle down around me I will be able to start trying new things with my exercise regime.


vdqnfy2og9.png

One of the concerns I have had always with my someone extreme approaches to dieting and fitness is how my vitals and key indicators of health perform. I was able to do a wellness screening in March to see how, if at all, my vitals have been impacted by my changes. I was happy to see that in almost every metric the screen for, we’re all within the healthy indicators. The only exception that I had were the levels of my HDL which is the metric that measures the “good” cholesterol levels in my body. this was surprising as I often include nuts and avocado in my diet that supposed to help in that area. However, fish and seafood are not visible in my diet but that changed during my vacation. Been on a diet that is low carbohydrate in comparison to others and also high in fat, has had me more sensitive to these results. However in seeing some of these key indicators being within healthy ranges as me positive in my continuation to these efforts. My next screening will be with my doctor towards the end of the year where I can adjust if needed.


cteu17l1pa.png

Source

I have also continued to integrate my journey with health and fitness to our ecosystem with @actifit. The project continues to develop and grow amongst the community which continues to encourage myself about the overall ecosystem we are building. The way that they continue to deploy updates and engage with the community is a great example of how any project considering to create an Dapp should do so. They also have continued to build ways to reward users across the platform. This is probably why their Steem Power continues to grow even in an environment where in competing projects are seeking as well! Given the additional announcements of the deployment of their token outside of the platform, the future continues to be very positive in that options continue to be added in the ways of engagement and marketing. I can no longer see myself without using @actifit as it is one my motivators to not only engage in the ecosystem but also improve my fitness and health.

While this initiative originally started for the over-arching benefit to my health, I will not lie to say that I feel encouraged by the progress I have not only seen but feel as I wake up every day to engage my life. Also, it will come in to more benefits as the summer approaches and my self-confidence can improve as I will feel “fitter” than I have in the past. I guess more trips to the beach will be in my future as we approach the hot summer days. I don’t think it is too late to start if it is something that you had wanted to do since the beginning of the year but for whatever reason life has gotten in the way. Look for motivators to get you started and get back on track to improve your fitness and health because at the end of the day it will provide us with the only asset we cannot buy, more time on this Earth.

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
SMT-Tokens Market Initiative in Daybit - Steemhunt, eSteem, Utopian, Actifit, Fundition, Tasteem, Tr

Today, we are thrilled to introduce our initiative t...

Sort:  

Congratulations...I think you are going on the right track with your diet and including exercise which is very important. For the last 6 months or so I've been getting acquainted with Gundry MD and his life style changes to improve health and stay young while you age. He sells health supplements and there are many advertisements for them, but I would strongly suggest reading his new book, "Longevity Paradox" which you can get on Amazon. It will open your eyes to a new life style of living healthy and focus on your microbiome, which are you gut bacteria...both the good ones and bad ones and how they affect your health. The goal is to eat foods that make your good gut bacteria thrive and NOT eat those foods that otherwise make your bad gut bacteria thrive and consequently cause health issues. Gundry is a cardiac surgeon with 16 years of experience and for the past 19 years he has changed his practice to advising patients on eating the right foods. After you read his book, then subscribe (free) to his weekly podcasts and learn even more. He also has good tips on Instagram. I'm a retired pediatrician, and I can tell you that medical school doesn't train you well in advising patients on nutrition...plus there is so much that has been discovered in the last 20-30 years that Gundry shares with his followers. Let me know your comments...I'm joining his life style model.....good luck to you and best wishes on your journey to great health!!!

I will definitely check it out as I often worry about the rest of my family as they have better genetics than me but I often think that it doesn’t mean that they should not be watching what they eat as I think it all eventually comes back to us! Thanks for passing by and sharing this information!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's interesting that you mention genetics in your family. My wife and I have several friends in the local retirement village who have reached the ages of 90 and above, with a few over 100. I used to say that those people had "good genes", but Gundry points out that it has nothing to do with your genes. Back in the previous century to two, people had an average life span of 40-45 years, but still many people lived to be well over 70. I do a lot of genealogy and I agree with that. In those days they didn't have antibiotics and cures for many medical conditions. Now with those advances the average life span is in the 80's....but Gundry points out that in the last 3 years, the average life span is decreasing....because of all the additives in our food, like antibiotics (fed to the animals we eat), added sugars (to everything) and Roundup (glyphosate in the product) that is used on gardens, golf courses, and sprayed on all vegetables grown...plus the chemical in plastic bottles to make them more pliable.....all killers to our gut microbiome. So, it's not our genes, but what we feed our gut bacteria that is shortening our lifespan. Being aware is an eye opener! Gundry explains it better than me. Best to you and your family....

Wow you should be very proud of yourself. What you will find, since you have seen results, is that you won't want to stop working out because it makes you look and feel good, after awhile, it comes addicting.

And it's Ok to reward yourself with some sweets every now and then.

“Some” is the key word as I exaggerate everytime and eat a dozen donuts instead of one or two!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To me, i will say i have really improved in my body fitness for the part 4 month of this year compare to last year. I stay more fit, i did more fit, and i am fit compare to last year

Great! Improvements are great to experience as they motivate for the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94