The Abuja Trip : Part One

in #esteem6 years ago

Over the years I have often wonder how the Capital of Nigeria looks like, I've heard nice tales of the land scape and how beautiful the road network was built so believe me when I say that the opportunity arose yesterday and I had to witness the experience first hand.

IMAG0733_1.jpg

The thrills and frills doesn't just come without a price we encountered several hiccups and obstacles on our way to Abuja.

The journey was meant to be 10 hours by road so I decided to board the most popular a d luxurious transport company that money can buy. We left Lagos at exactly 6:00am and a passenger took it upon herself to pray for journey mercies as it is the customer with Commuters who travel a long distance ,So you won't be surprised that to my greatest surprised it wasn't every one that bowed their head for prayers as some can be seen fiddling their phones.

The Driver
The driver happens to be a jolly good fellow as he keeps changing music tracks this man should be between the ages of 40-45 years of age and I was surprised that he played very popular hit songs on his powerful juke box and trust me since I was the sitter at the front sit with him being that the bus is a 12 sitter bus I heard the songs first hand before those at the back could hear it, so I was not surprised when the songs became noise in my ears and I started experiencing headaches.

IMAG0765_1.jpg

We stoped a couple of times to change the tires and the brake had issues but trust the driver it was patched up nearly by a road side mechanic. I want to give the driver kudos as he manage a trip that was meant to take us 10 hours, it ended up taking us more than 14 hours courtesy of some very heavy traffic and bad road aground kogi state and even the capital called Lokoja.

The Passengers
I find it very strange that the 12 passengers including myself can be grouped in one category.

IMAG0725_1.jpg

It is common knowledge that you board a flight or road transport you don't immediately start chatting a total stranger up, but over time, with a couple of side talks within a few hours you guys will become jolly good friends and this was exactly what played out yesterday, surprisingly we were all politically inclined even the driver need to end his voice too as he does not want to be left out in the fun, and argument that encompassed the bus like a the smell of fresh flowers.

IMAG0720_1.jpg

The Problematic Passenger
A male between the ages of 30- 35 years of age was a "pain to everyone's arse" as he can be seen pleading with the bus driver to stop the cubicle that he needs to get alcohol and assorted food.

IMAG0714_1.jpg

Worthy of note was that we need to stop three time for him to use the toilet as he keeps eating and drinking, a very loud fellow and a comedian when he was very tipsy .

He boasted to us that he won a drinking competition I. His state and he used the proceedings to construct a mini bar in his flat and filled it with his favourite poison.

IMAG0711_1.jpg

I ended up getting to my destination at exactly 10:10 pm, but trust me I went straight to the shower a d hit the bed ,please watch out for part two since ill be here for a while, thanks for reading .A very beautiful place with great view, mountains and lansscape

Sort:  

What a nice trip with a funny experience,i will be looking forward for the part two

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98