My Movie Review: Tomb Raider 2018 week 2

in #esteem6 years ago

Introduction

OK its a brand new day the fourth day in the money of June 2018 and WHAT A EFFING DAY TO BE ALIVE... I don't think I know anyone on steemit whose birthday is today but if today happens to be your birthday (by this I mean the 4th of June) then this silly human (myself) wishes you a wonderful splendid cake infested birthday. And hey even if your birthday isn't the 4th of June and you happen to visit this post on your birthday, I also wish you a cake filled happy birthday (I should probably call Joan after this.. She would kill me if I didn't wish her a happy birthday)

Alrighty.. Honestly guys as at the time I was composing this message I had no idea what I was going to be dishing out for you people of the steem blockchain community.. BUT then it finally hit me.
So today boys and girls of the steem block chain community I will be doing another movie review and today I will be doing review on Roar Uthaug's 2018 Tomb raider.
Tomb-Raider-review.jpg
image source
Apparently it a remake of the 2001 classic movie Lara Croft: Tomb Raider which starred Angelina Jolie (this was the first time I ever saw an Angelina Jolie movie and boy was I impressed which is weird seeing that as at this time I was only 9 - 10 years old... i had experienced my first Hollywood crush on her after I saw the movie).
So as I always say put on a parachute and dive 3000 feet in the air with me into the cesspool of silliness that is my thoughts..
Here we go 🛩🛩🌫🌫🤸🤸

About the movie

image
image source
Now as I said earlier (about 11 lines ago) this movie was directed by Roar Uthaug and it is actually a remake of the 2001 movie Lara Croft: Tomb raider. That is to say, it didnt follow the earlier story lines of the first two films. Instead this one reintroduced us to a main character who is from this current time period.
The movie stars the like of Alicia Vikander as Lara Croft (she has a pretty neat British accent for someone who was born and breed in Sweden), Dominic West as Lord Richard Croft and Walton Goggins as Matthias Vogel. It also has the likes of Daniel Wu and Nick Frost both from the hit series Into the badlands (YOU NEED TO SEE THAT SERIES.. ITS FREAKING LIT).
So the story follows Lara Croft who has a huge inheritance to her name, decides to live in the suburbs of of modern day London not because she seeks to have a quiet peaceful life, but because claiming her inheritance would mean she has lost all hope of seeing her father who left her when she was little.
She finally decides to accept the inheritance at the persuasion of her guardian but on getting there to sign it, she receives a puzzle from the family lawyer which gives her clues. Clues that tell her about her father's true affairs and the reason why he is gone missing.
So armed with her new found knowledge, a couple of cash and a recording left by her father, she decides to go down the rabbit hole that lead to her father disappearance in other to find answers.And all this to a secret organization that wants to destroy the world, a drunk Thai sailor, a selfish psycho by the name of Matthias Vogel and boom.. You have Tomb raider.

My Opinion

Now first of if one were to read through the plot of this movie first without seeing it, one would be really really enticed so for this reason I will applaud the plot of the movie.. Yes I agree it did have a good story. BUT, seeing as I am not the kind of person who reads a plot before watching the movie I would like to say this about the movie.
You see right from when I saw the movie trailer to this movie as at late 2017 I knew for sure that I wouldn't be impressed with the movie.. Yep.. That's right.. You heard me.. I knew that it would be one of those movies that had a really hyped trailer but it would be just a regular good movie. So because of this reason and this reason soley, I trusted my guts and I brought down my expectations for the movie. So just a piece of advice for all of you out there who may have high expectations from seeing the trailer.. Calm yourself down or you may get really disappointed.
NOW, that being said I am not trying to discourage you from seeing the movie (even though I am fully aware of how discouraged you are already) all I'm saying is, you shouldn't have as much hype as you had for the Angelina Jolie movie.
I mean the actors were good, the story was OK, the stunts were just right, but I don't know from some reason It didn't just hit that mark for me.. You know, it wasn't just there. I think it was missing a certain elegance. A form of elegance and poise that comes with being mature and self confident. I mean if you see the way Jolie did it you would have an idea of what I'm picturing in my head.
I feel it was that way because it wasn't the right time to have a remake of the movie or because the lead actress couldn't do it as good as Jolie did it... I don't know.. I wasn't just feeling it completely. One thing that really hurt me about the movie is the fact that I didn't have high hopes for the movie, and that's exactly what the movie gave me. It wasn't like what I experienced with Wonder Woman or Doctor Strange, where I had not so high expectations and at the end s day I was disappointed.. In a pretty good way.
This particular movie met my expectation at its low point.
Now that being said, this is strictly my opinion and I would advice everyone to go check it out at see it for yourselves. Trust me you may end up loving it, calling my review a complete hoax. But you will never be able to tell without first seeing it. So look around for the movie and purchase it or download it for free it's available now in Blu-ray format.
With all being said I will give this movie a 2.5/5 score because in my opinion it was good, but it wasn't good enough.
So... See you guys on my next post.. Aurevoir

Sort:  

Totally your opinion though. I'd lookout for the movie. Seen the trailer, I think it's gonna be good.

Thanks for the review.

Yeah you should go see it... It was OK..

Congratulations @osarueseosato! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @osarueseosato! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by osarueseosato from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60