#vlog

in #esteem6 years ago

imageA rare view of Joshua Tree National Park! Yesterday I flew my paraglider over a hundred Kilometers from a launch called "Marshall" overlooking San Bernadino all the way to and over Joshua Tree National Park...landing (outside the park) after sunset! This was a special flight for me, considering that I spent countless days in the park exploring and climbing in this wild wonderland of rock. I've climbed hundreds of routes in that park!! To fly over it was surreal...and almost "karmic" feeling. The crux and most committing part of the flight took me over the flanks of San Gorgonio, the highest peak in Southern California, but for sure the highlight of the day was flying over J-Tree. I wanted SO BADLY to go land in Hidden Valley campground where I had spent a good part of my dirtbag career honing my trad climbing skills...but it is illegal to launch or land a paraglider in a National Park... a tantalizing forbidden fruit. It is, however, legal to fly over it...so pretty damn cool I got that opportunity while watching the sunset! I landed to the smiling face of my good buddy @whitewaterchristo who drove out to grab me. He handed me an extremely delicious beer and high fived me for an epic flight. Was that a dream... or did it really happen! This sport is so outrageous!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70