#Wednesday Walk

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by @tattoodjay, The idea is to get out for a short walk, and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A vigorous five-mile walk will do more good for an unhappy but otherwise healthy adult than all the medicine and psychology in the world. - Paul Dudley White

I rarely do five miles, more like three and a half miles. But then I wasn't unhappy.

I used to jog, but now, due to pain in the knee and back, I walk instead. I will try to slowly get back to jogging if and when the aches go away. However, I get to see more when I am walking.

ifklfvivwg.jpg

This was what I saw on one of my walks. There are two of these trees side by side. They have been there for a while. They look kind of dull - their leaves anyway, and there is something about them that I couldn’t put a finger on. Another thing is that for the years that they were there, I hadn’t seen any flowers. One day, for some reason, I thought I would take a closer look.

I walked right underneath it and looked up. I saw immediately what was puzzling me. The leaves are of two colours. The top side of the leaves are green in colour whereas the bottom side are brown in colour. That explains why from a distance, they looked rather dull. And to my surprise, I saw a fruit. It had the appearance of a green apple. As I looked, I noticed more and more of the fruits. They blended in with the leaves so nicely that unless you focus, or look for them, you would not have seem them.

m7rupvve90.jpg

There was an elderly gentleman taking a breather near by. I asked him if he knows anything about the tree or the fruit. He didn’t know the actual name, but loosely translated, the fruit is known as ‘Golden Fruit’. He went on to explain that they are edible. I would love to try and eat one, but they are quite high up, and I think we are not allowed to pluck fruits from the trees in public. If I do get a chance to try it in future, I will post about it.

yl8m506doj.jpg

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

Thought of the Day

Sort:  

That’s a good walk I to do not run anymore for the same reasons
I remember we had a golden fruit tree at home when I was growing up

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Hi @tattoodjay. It's my pleasure. I actually quite enjoy the #Wednesdaywalk. I don't understand why I hadn't join earlier. Oh yes, I remember now, I have a phobia for contests and challenges. Anyway, now that I know it's not necessary about contesting or challenges, I am fine.

I am slowly jogging short distances in between walks. I think my knee is getting better now. My back too, with all the stretching and bending exercises. Fingers crossed. I hope your knee and back is not causing you too much discomfort.

I tried to google the 'Golden Fruit' but it was 'fruitless'. lol

I am glad you feel comfortable joining in on the walk fir me it’s all about people getting out and about and having fun
I to have a bit of a thing about contests and seldom join them

Glad your Knee and back are improving good luck with that
Mine aren’t to bad if I am sensible which I try to be these days

I am glad you feel comfortable joining in on the walk fir me it’s all about people getting out and about and having fun
I to have a bit of a thing about contests and seldom join them

Glad your Knee and back are improving good luck with that
Mine aren’t to bad if I am sensible which I try to be these days

Yes, you will be seeing more of my post on Wednesdaywalk. :-)

Being sensible - that's it. A lot of the times, if we were more sensible and mindful, a lot of inconvenience could have been avoided. Keep well!

Ohh yes if I had been more sensible when younger I would not have some of the issues I have now

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp for your support.

Howdy sir Vincent! very interesting, you found the hidden fruit! I think 3.5 miles is plenty and I think walking at a good pace is just as good as jogging, if not better for you, not as stressful but still great circulation stimulator without the stress on joints, what do you think?

Howdy Jonboy, yes, I think 3.5 miles of walking everyday is good enough. And you are right - walking at a good pace is just as good as jogging if not better. I think, nowadays, doctors recommend walking too. It is less strenuous on the knees and especially if you are not used to jogging, it would be a very bad idea to start jogging at sixty. Still, I like to give my heart some cardio exercises by jogging a bit during the walk.

Howdy sir Vincent! so what you are saying is that you agree with the doctors that jogging is too strenous but you still do it? lol. I thought a fast walk would still give a good cardio work out but maybe I'm just guessing!

I guess it depends on how fast is your walk and whether that is enough to jot your cardio. For people who had been running, they are never satisfied to just walk. When, where possible, they will still prefer jogging.

Yeah that's me. I've been a runner ever since I was a little kid on the farm and I've basically kept it up all my life although sometimes it was off and on. So I usually break into a jog but I play with Jack everyday and that includes running but that's short bursts.

Exercising your dog and yourself. Two birds with one stone. Jolly good!

Exercising your
Dog and yourself. Two birds with
One stone. Jolly good!

                 - quotes-haven


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

yeah that is pretty efficient isn't it? lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01