How tough life of engineer without Job...

in #esteem6 years ago

I have completed my graduation in Civil Engineering. I had been keeping an eye on the placement statistics of Civil Engineering in my college. The stats were not too encouraging. (Only a handful of students from Civil would get placement from campus. Most of them got in Software industry).

image
Image

So, I was mentally prepared for the scenario of not getting placement from the campus. The day I had my external Viva for project, very next day I had joined an internship in a construction company. The internship lasted for 1 Month. I would leave my house at around 7:30 in the morning and be back home around 08:30 P.M. (Sometimes as late as 11 P.M.)

As soon as the internship was over, after a gap of 2 days, I left for Hyderabad for my GATE Coaching. The coaching lasted for 6-7 Months. Daily I had 6 hours of classes and most of the rest of the day we used to sit there in ACE Study rooms going through the topics covered.

THE QUESTION DIDNOT ASK ABOUT ANY OF THIS. THEN WHY AM I WRITING ALL THIS ?

I'll come to the point now. I was jobless for almost 7-8 months after my graduation. But I had something to look forward to during these 7-8 months (First the internship and then the GATE Classes). So, Life wasn't tough for me even though I was Jobless. All was good till I had the GATE Exam to look forward to.

Once the exam was over, I had nothing to do all day long. And that's where all the trouble started. Since I was free all day long, I would see photos of my friends purchasing bikes, gifting things to their parents, going for Trekking, checking in to so and so hotel/pub on Facebook. And that's when it would hit me. The jobless jack thing. I would start making comparison between their life and mine. This was totally wrong because their destination and my destination, both were different. So obviously our journeys were supposed to be different as well (taking different amount of time).

I always wanted to get into the teaching field and GATE exam was an important step in that direction. So, basically I was moving in the right direction. But back then I wasn't mentally mature enough to convince myself about that. So, all this made life tougher for me. I wasn't always a party animal, but yet I started avoiding most of the family functions. The worst effect of all this was on my Friendlist. I had very limited friends during my college days. And during all this, the inferiority complex that I had developed didn't allow me to open up to anyone. I started avoiding calls of my friends. I would never call back etc. Life got tough on so many fronts. But there's no point in going into details of my misery.

INSTEAD THE POINT I WOULD LIKE TO MAKE HERE is Life will be far more tougher as long as you don't have anything to look forward to. So, It's okay if you don't get placement from college. But, instead of sitting at home thinking about how miserable your life is, it's better to go out there and fight for what you desire. Life will be lot more easier that way.

ALL THE BEST.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77