My ArtVenture: Watercolor painting: "Kilchurn Castle in Scotland"

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,


Again last couple of days I was working with watercolors, this time as a topic I have chosen landscape, there are many different landscapes that you can see and paint but I have had a calendar with Scottish Castles that I bought in 2015, despite the calendar has no use but the pictures are really stunning. So I still have it, that is why I thought why not to do one of those Castles.

Kilchurn castle in Loch Awe

Kilchurn castle in Loch Awe was built in mid 1400 by Colin Campbell the first Lord of Glenorchy. To give you a little idea, it is located on Western coast of Scotland, to the North from Glasgow. The castle has 5 storey tower house that remained in Campbell clan for 150 years. The tower house is substantially complete, on the ground floor was cellar and a prison, on first was a hall and private chambers above.

During the difficult time in 1600, following overthrow of the Stuart dynasty in 1689 Sir John Campbell of Glenorchy converted the castle into garrison stronghold, a project which took the best part of a decade. The tower house was converted into accommodation for officers commanding 200 men. For garrison a barrack was built and till nowadays remained complete and the oldest surviving barracks on the British mainland.

When you visit that place, you feel one with the nature, you have beautiful lake, by the way "Loch" means "Lake", therefore Loch Awe.

Also you may remember "Loch Ness", that actually mean "Lake Ness" and this is one of the deep, freshwater lake in Scottish Highlands.

Surrounding mountains usually have snowcaps, I have never thought that the mountains here are so high and still may be covered with snow for a long time. All around castle is just hills and valleys, no soul for miles away. Of course you should have a good 4-wheel drive car, enough fuel, some food just in case and of course you may have problem with your mobile.*

But that is why you are there, to be one with nature.

So here is for your attention, my exercise:



Watercolor painting: "Kilchurn Castle in Scotland" by @Stef1

gzy2jlcnm5.jpg

May be you have noticed I do not try to apply much or intense colors, I am still a bit cautious becuase I have always in my head: better to do less and then you can correct but too much in watercolor spoils everything. Because I am just learning I use very light, pale mix of colors, I hope with time I will be more bold and produce more colorful paintings :)



My step-by-step process:

vz3lnvj3gh.jpg

I used the crepe tape to separate water surface from the colors above.

jsli7g4632.png

0ncy6dofr5.jpg

What I find most difficult in watercolor that is mixing up colors, because I never have the right amound, either too much or too little and then it is so funny how I try quickly put them on the wetted area, I never thought that water dries up so quickly :)

jsli7g4632.png

gymuh4jepx.jpg

Now I could work with wet on dry so it was a bit easier, I have had time and did not need to rush. And also you see I removed the crepe paper.

jsli7g4632.png

Watercolor painting: "Kilchurn Castle in Scotland" by @Stef1

i4y5roua0z.jpg

Watercolor textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolors colors in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes.

Here is the lower part done in wet on wet, again I had to do it in "one breath" like I said so long the surface was still wet. I know many people uses larger brushes and so many different numbers, I have those couple and have not bought anything else yet, I was trying to see if I will continue watercolors then will buy different sizes.

jsli7g4632.png



Test-1ab.jpg


DSC01062.jpg


hf9bijdca2.png


I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Thank you for viewing!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for your support, always nice to see your logo in comments!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for supporting and for making it visible for wider community :)

Gorgeous piece, Stef. I really like that you keep on tackling watercolour, even if you feel you have a lot of difficulties at it. It certainly doesn't show in the result.
                       
I really like the composition of this art, that castle in the middle of the painting, on top of the horizontal sea and the two triangular mountainous shapes behind it. Such gorgeous and beautiful simplicity <3.

Thank you for encouragement, that helps really a lot, this time I liked very much my mountains, was a bit anxious if the colors will come up well, but after it dried up was looking really nice. YOu may noticed I started with simple subject and landscape is something where you can hardly spoinl anyhting, but I hope it will be more detailed and difficult topic on later stage :)

Красивый замок получился. Великолепный рисунок.

Спасибо за Ваше мнения, очень рада что ресултат Вам понравился :)

Всегда пожалуйста. Приятно, если мои скромные комментарии помогаю Вам найти немного новой мотивации. У Вас очень красиво получается, и чем больше Вы будете рисовать, тем лучше будет получаться в будущем.

Wow! Really beautiful work!

Thank you for your nice words, I am glad you like it :)

Skills to envy 👌👍

Thank you @kaliju for such compliment, that is the best what an artists wish to hear, to make other people get interested in Art. That also encourage us to keep working hard and improve our skills too :)

This would also have a special place on my wall. It looks so calming and peaceful, perfect to look at after a long and tiring day! Excellent job, well done!

Hello @stef1, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much @creativecrypto for popping by and your support!

I also like this one; the simplification and colours are what draw my eyes. Maybe I should download (I do not know where Kilchum is, but presume it is in Scotland?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65