7 Ways To Make Time For Fitness

in #esteem5 years ago

Today I wanted to share with you 7 Ways To Make Time For Fitness. Let’s face it, we are busy people and we live busy lives and always have a reason or an excuse for not being able to exercise. The STRUGGLE IS REAL!!

I believe consistency, discipline and some planning anyone can create winning habits that last a lifetime. For a season, you will just need to take a little more effort to get things going. I’ve compiled a list of 7 Ways To Make Time For Fitness and they applicable across the board in life, and not just fitness. Enjoy!

Your mind without a goal is like setting the course for a ship to a destination called anywhere.

#1 What Are you Aiming At?

Before you can set off on any course in life, you must have a goal in mind. I love what Zig Ziglar says,

“What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.”

One way to start setting goals is to set SMART Goals. Download my free GOAL SETTING WORKSHEET HERE….

One statement I hear more often than not is “I want to lose weight”. But then the next question you should ask yourself is, “How much weight do you want to lose?” or “Why do you even want to lose weight?”

You see, we all ask ourselves questions, more often than not, either consciously or subconsciously. When you question your own questions, it reveals some of your own assumptions you have towards yourself.

“Behind every question is a questioner, and when you question the questioner, you get him or her to open up within their own assumptions” - Dr. Ravi Zacharias

#2 Research your time

Before you can start making time for anything, you must first know where your time is going. One way I have been able to do this is by downloading a pretty cool app called “RESCUE TIME”. It is a FREE time management software that you can download on your desktop computer. There are so many distractions and possibilities in our digital life, that it’s easy to get scattered. RescueTime gives you an accurate picture of how you spend your time so that you can be more productive. Try it for about a week and check out your report to see where your time is going. After you have discovered where your time is going. Look for opportunities to delegate or systemize your most painstaking task or everyday activities at work. This is all in an effort to get you to FOCUS your efforts and time.

#3 Create a Schedule

Plan your day around your workouts. Schedule your workouts first. I like to plan my workouts in the morning on days when I know I am going out on a date at night with my wife. This gives me more motivation. When you have to travel, schedule “TIME MISER-WORKOUTS”. These are workouts you can do anywhere in a short amount of time with limited equipment.

#4 Accountability

Have an accountability partner for your workouts. If you have friends who workout, you are more likely to be successful at working out. We have all heard this saying, “Show me your friends and I will show you your future”. Well, it is true! So I encourage you to enlist a workout buddy. No one ever wants to be “that guy or gal” that misses the workout.

#5 Put Your Money On It

Putting money on the line is a good motivator to show up for a fitness session. Knowing that I spent that hard earned money to work out, is just another reason to at least show up to the workout. So try hiring a fitness professional or even pay for gym membership or a boot camp. Another quick tip is to save up for some new fitness gear to purchase once you have consistently worked out for a set time(Maybe 2-3x’s a week for a month).

#6 Have An Agenda For Each Workout

Have an agenda for each workout. Plan to do one more rep, more weight, run longer or add another set to your workout to increase the volume. Have something to look forward to achieving at each workout session. Maybe it is a Tabata Finisher at the end of the workout you must conquer. Don’t make your workouts easy. Still train smart, effective but push yourself past your comfort zone. Try to even pack your workout gear the night before along with a new playlist. Set yourself up for success the night before. I recommend working out in the mornings because there is less of a chance of interruption early in the morning.

#7 Set Reminders

I set up email, pop-up and text reminders on my phone and desktop so that working out is always “Top-Of-Mind”. I am always aware of when my workouts are coming up.

What are some things you have incorporated to make time for fitness? I’d love to hear back from you.

Till next time, Making Fitness Last A Lifetime.

Sort:  

100% Agree

Commit to it until it is not only a habit, but a way of life... as a professional Martial Artist of over 40 years, I can proudly say, I have not missed a day yet of training, even while in hospital for injury. Your workout may not be the same each day, but you must do something... altering the workout is greatly beneficial.

Oh, I trained in the hospital too. My respect to you!

One of the things that I do first in the morning is going to the gym, in that way, I never skip that activity in my days

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks! I need to work out..

You have a whole life for it :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85