Sky Bridges in NYC

in #esteem5 years ago

NYC Sky bridges

@hangin in a few posts has taken photo of, and on some of the many Skybridges that are in Bangkok, and I said I wished we had more of them here and I think I even said in one comment the only thing close to that we have here is the Highline park, but then I remembered some sky Bridges well I guess that's what they are called we have in NYC, so I walked to where I knew a few of them were and got shots for this post.

So this first shot is actually taken while walking on the Highline and as you can see its more of a bridge between two building, but that's the closest we have to the many skybridges they have in Bangkok as I understand it on some of them you can walk many blocks up from the congestion down at street level.

I do love the style of this one I have no idea how old it is but it looks like it's been there for quite a few decades

1 Sky Bridges2.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger



This next one is also visible fromthe highline and has a more modern feel to it.

Funny thing that just came to me is there is actually a Sky Bridge between one of the buildings I used to work in a few years back here in the city, and I walked over it many times as my bank was in the other building, but with all the other tall buildings around its almost if not impossible to get a shot of it.

1 Sky Bridges.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And this last one, well a two-level sky Bridge is between buildings that are part of Hunter college I do believe

1 Sky Bridges3.jpg

Sony A7iii 78mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


Do you have any Sky bridges where you live?

I cannot remember seeing nay back in NZ when I lived there

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.748761 lat -74.004153 long the Highline NYC d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks appreciate the resteem

Awesome skybridge images @tattoodjay Great perspective, colour and detail. They all have extra features with interesting scenery in the background.

Thanks Kindly my Friend I have sene them often but only recently thought of taking photos of them

I'm glad you did take photos of them although it looks as though you are standing in the middle of the road with that last shot JJ. 😊 You obviously timed it right with the traffic. Ah.......the risks we keen photographers take when determined to get the best shots! 🤒

Guilty as charged I was in the middle of the road but I was on a pedestrian crossing and the traffic was stopped so it’s safer than it perhaps looks lol

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sky-bridges-in-nyc-b6a808d256f26


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Thanks kindly appreciate the support

That first skybridge is pretty awesome looking. We have some of them in Grand Rapids, but they look more like the last picture that you shared. It really is an awesome innovation to keep people moving outside of the elements.

The first ones style is my favorite as well I think most of them are for people working in the buildings not so much for the general public

My favorite was the first one. The old style makes it more appealing for me.

I've seen some on Mexico City, mostly on the subway stations and hospitals.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks cool to know there are some in Mexico City I have never been there

I don't know of but maybe one or two here in Atlanta, but I'll have to
Look and see if I can contribute. 100% Upvote @tattodjay

Thanks kindly and cool if at some stage you can show the ones there

This is a cool subject. And great pics. In Calgary, there is a very vast system of these Bridges. They are called + 15. Because it gets very cold in our winter it can pretty much walk from pretty much any building to any building through the system. These are 15 feet off of the ground and the temperature in them is approximately 15 degrees which is why they get their name!

That’s cool that they have them there with the harsh winters you get it makes a lot of sense to have them there

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 78000 comments. Your next target is to reach 79000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 6.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97