The Girl in the Dark - Poem

in #esteem6 years ago

tqz46mf5kn.jpg

Photo Credit

It was late at night,
Shouldn't have drunk as much,
A realization to hit late,
But nevertheless hit home.

No vehicles out on the streets,
It was going to be a lonely walk,
With time now being past midnight,
It was quiet as death.

Cold breeze cooing,
Darkness playing tricks on the mind,
Shadows sprang to action in excitement,
My mind played a movie for me.

A figure in the distance,
Stood under a tree,
Not moving, not doing anything,
But staring right up at the tree.

I walked closer,
My heart beating furiously,
Taking a place in my mouth,
I walked over.

Calling out, but no response,
I walked over,
Turning the figure around by shoulder,
Only to stare into the face of a beauty.

Mesmerized and speechless,
I stood staring,
Unsure what to ask,
I merely smiled.

She smiled in return too,
Turning to look back up at the tree,
As if to answer my question, replies,
"I was hung to death right there."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56