Experience the Mangroves river

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)
In April this year, I went for a training that's include a visit to an upper area of Borneo. That day, I, @kilathecla and some 30 participants (local and international) departed on a mini van from Kota Kinabalu at about 8.30 morning and arrived at the community house about 12.00 noon. We were invited to have lunch but some of us refused as we were rushing to the boat at the river jetty which was about 1 KM walk. When we arrived at the river jetty, I saw the boat that we're going to use, I got scared and make a face to @kilathecla and said **"What have we put ourselves into?"**

There were about 6 small boats waiting for us to ride. I regretted my kind-heart decision for not taking the offer of wearing a life jacket earlier. The community said that there were only 6 life jackets available and there were 30 participants that day! I and @kilathecla felt that we should give it to our international participants. Come to think of it, we're so damn kind-hearted!

The boatman said that we have to hurry up to go into the boat as it will be difficult to manoeuvre the boat into the small Mangroves river on low tide. At first I and @kilathecla were in the same small boat. Then the boatman said I and one other participant need to ride another boat as the boat can only accommodates three passengers. As the boat moved, I sarcastically said to @kilathecla boatman to look after my friend because she's still single.

There were 6 people in the boat that I'm in. I kinda nervous that time. I kept thinking Damn damn damn what have I put myself into. It was my second time on a boat, the first time was 10 years ago! In the boat there was one participant who has an unpleasant body odor. He happened to sit in front of me, so when the boat started to move forward, guess where the wind blew?!. I feel like wanting to puke. Luckily I have this shawl which I put some essential oil on it and covered my nose...LOL.

As our boat slowly manoeuvred into the river, I kept my eyes wide open in case there is a crocodile nearby. The ride took about 15 minutes from the small river to a big one that is connected to the sea. When I saw the big river, my heart was like *Dup dup dup..* As we arrived to our destination, a place where they showed us the destroyed area and the community's efforts to re-plant the mangrove trees. We were there for about 30 minutes. As we about to head back, the boat man said to his fellowman that his boat can accommodate 3 more passengers. I pity the 3 passengers, they were asked to sit on the floor.

The ride back took a long time as the community leader asked all 6 boats to stop at one place and gave his explanation on how they planted the new three. Basically, we're inside the boat that lined-up and listened to his explanation. By this time we're starving for food and water. They told us that the ride will be about 40 minutes but it looks like 3 hour or so. It turns out the community didn't have enough boats for the participant so what they did was to send us to one place and goes back to take another participants. Ends up we went back about 3.30 pm!

Anyway, I'm glad that nothing happen during my adventure to this Mangrove river. The scenery of the place is beautiful and a heaven for nature lover. On the other hand, I'm quite disappointed with the way the community and the local organiser handled the expedition. The time estimation for the travel was not efficient and there were no proper safety measures like life jacket for every participants! Not everyone can swim you know...

Sort:  

What? You didn't have a life jacket on? Or did I read you wrongly?
And lucky you have a shawl and EO.
I can imagine you like --> 🤢
😂😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah..you got that right... no life jacket on, and I don't even know how to swim. That's was the most stpd thing I ever done! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱
You didn't know how to swim and no life jacket?!!!
You weren't thinking at all that time... Lol...
Dah lepas baru rasa takut... 😅😅😅

Posted using Partiko Android

😂😂😂 yup... I was there and everyone is acting brave...so i just follow the floor...

Posted using Partiko Android

Next time remember always wear a life jacket. Pandai berenang atau tidak... Safety comes first... But anyway you all have a great experience... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya..thanks for the reminder... Mimang kerja gila dan tak akan di ulangi...😁

Posted using Partiko Android

❤️❤️❤️😎😎😎👌

Posted using Partiko Android

❤️❤️❤️😎😎😎👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by verasj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98