You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thursday Green with Greens SBI Comment Contest

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

To us it is normal to eat greens. Vegetables and herbs. I know the first time I went to Germany, the biggest part of food they ate is meat. I saw it in many dishes.
With us it is vegetables, next potatoes and after that meat.

I know by now the food habits of many are changed. Fast food restaurants or a homemade pizza (a frozen one), a lot of pasta and Chinese-Indonesian food (our Chinese restaurants are a mix out both cultures. Dutch people eat a lot of Indonesian food). Actually we eat from all kind of cultures except our own (or what is left over of it).

The government is trying to promote to eat more vegetables and fruit again and at the same time rising the tax on it.
At some schools (EU project) they have days the kids get an apple (cheapest fruit there is).

It is not that we do not like to eat vegetables and fruit, but more and more people live in poverty and it is expensive. Kind of weird since Holland is a country of fruit (apples, pears, plums, cherries) and vegetables.

Since we have very less to spend we hardly eat meat, milkproducts and our main food is vegetables, legumes (we love it) and herbs (at our food, but also in soup).
By now I only buy fruit for my children (but not daily) and once in a while yoghurt and cheese.
If you take a quick look at the shopping car you can see exactly the financial state of people. Before we ate 2 different kinds of vegetables, now we eat just one.

I could eat vegetables non stop, only my youngest does not really like it, she only ate pancakes and French fries after I stopped the breastfeeding. It is the most healthy, slim and tallest kid I have

Sort:  

Wow! I did not know your economy was so bad over there. Do you have farmers markets where things might be cheaper?

There are rich people and more and more poor people and the poverty is increasing by taxes and all kind of things the EU makes us paying for.
For example this year our already high powerbill will increase with about 340 euro because Belgium has a lack of it (it does not make sense to me). It already been raised in the past year with 190 euro.

About 10 years ago there was only 1 foodbank, now nearly each place has one, but they are not able to serve all people who need it. Before they got food from the supermarkets etc, but now they hardly get. The supermarkets try to sell now what is close or over the date with the price reduced. In the past 6-7 years I see more and more empty spots in the shops as well. Not because they have a delivery problem but simply to force people to buy the A brands instead.

There are more and more give away stores which means if it comes to clothes, book, small stuff for your home you can take it if it suits you. The second hand shops are so extremely expensive were I live, that you can better by it brand new.

Where I live is a very small market but prices are higher as in the shop. What you find there are not really products sold by farmers but by shops, or I should say... they do not have the building only stay at markets.
Perhaps these market were cheaper as I was still a kid?
I am a single mom and my income is minimum for a single person, not a single mom, plus I am cut because one child is an adult and lives with me. The fact the child is jobless makes it harder since it is not able to give me the amount I get less. Well we will see how this year will ends for us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85