Notes on Cynicism & Liberation

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

d197qvecaa.jpg

m23crc7oie.png

To the Vanishing Point

Cynics are in need of constant reassurance; first, that their worst doubts about humanity are true and then, of course, that they are not.

Cynicism is always cracking jokes — out of sheer terror.

The only failures are misanthropes.

The problem with being full of yourself is that you cannot fill up with much else.

Why announce your few good deeds to the world, when you hide your many bad ones–even from yourself?

Spiritual initiation is knowledge received intravenously.

Wisdom is the obliteration of false distinctions – like opposites.

Paradox: the cloak preferred by profound truths.

Strange, how our weaknesses can be strengths in disguise, and vice versa.

Unattended, things may become their opposites - the way rebellion can curdle, and turn (back) into conformity or enslavement.

Knowing ourselves is a basic courtesy to others, especially those we love.

What a tragedy to share one's wisdom with everyone— except oneself.

Our morality is determined by the level of immorality that we can afford to live with.

Unheeded pricks of conscience might return as harpoons of circumstance.

Inhibitions might be the handmaidens of conscience.

Once we assent to life, ribbon and wrapping paper come undone.

To manage our suffering portfolio it helps to know what we can afford, spiritually.

There is freedom in not needing to possess what you admire.

What we refer to as "the real world" is often our failure of imagination.

In the midst of chaos, remember the indestructible world.

Rigidity is the need to conclude; let the last sentence of your soul stand open-ended...

©Yahia Lababidi, Where Epics Fail

Sort:  

good god, how did you get to be so wise?!! phew...so many truths here I can barely breath while reading them since my heart is taking up all the space in my chest trying to take them all in.

Bless your big heart. Truth is (no false modesty) but I’m not nearly as wise as these words. Trying, hard, to catch up, though :p

Thank you, for your attention & encouragement 🙏🏼

isn't it interesting that wisdom can come forth that is somehow wiser than we are?

Humbling stuff how our wisdom knows more than we do (and almost mocks us, at times).

A reminder, as I understand it, that we do not own our inspirations, but are mere vessels...

agreed!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

Really grateful for @esteem’s support & just downloaded Surfer app the other day, which I’m now using for my posts :)

Many thanks!

After reading and trying to understand, everything goes back to how hypocritical the spiritual is far from faith. 🙏

Hmm... I'm not sure I understand quite what you mean. Would you care to, kindly, elaborate?

Sorry, friend, I don't understand literary language well. Cynicism, paraphox, or whatever ... But, I see the language of your opposition so thick in your poetry. This proves that between hope and reality does not function properly.

Don't be offended friend. I'm just an ordinary reader who likes your creative work.

I'm not offended, I don't want to waste my time guessing what general or vague comments might mean. Time and effort goes into my writing and I am happy to engage with comments that take time to read what I've written and engage with it, meaningfully.

In the future, please, if you read something I've posted that you do understand, and wish to make a specific comment on, I'm happy to read it. Otherwise, there's no need to comment about what you don't understand _/|\_

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93