20 Steem (Instant) Giveaway! (Community Building Thoughts)

in #esteemapp5 years ago

Greetings Steemian's,

The idea to run this giveaway briefly came to me earlier, but I was going to wait until later to post it. I decided against waiting, due to some high test coffee I just ingested.

I was reading comments while listening to meditation music, and felt my anxiety begin to rise. The feeling was akin to my past experience(s) with Facebook. The fact that I was listening to meditation music, and feeling increased anxiety should spell quite clearly the context of most of these comments.

They weren't as volatile as Facebook, but they were bothersome to me. I don't have the required skillset to "save the blockchain" , in technical ways, but I would like to believe I have the mindset to assist in productive ways, as a community member.

Let me share briefly, with the community what Steem has done for me, to put into perspective just how strongly I feel that it has value, beyond that of the financial aspect.

I'm an alcoholic, and a cocaine addict.

For ten years I was was a fall down drunk. I lost count of how many times I hit my head on concrete from blackout collapse. It is nothing short of a miracle that I did not incur brain damage, between the drugs, and traumatic blows to the head.

In January, I will have a full 2 years in sobriety.

I've been on the Steem blockchain since December of last year.

Over the course of the ten years I was in turmoil, I relapsed so many times trying to get sober, that I honestly lost count. It became a hopeless endeavor.

This last time I gave sobriety a go, I realized that I needed to change something drastically in order for success to become a possible reality, and I began some serious soul searching over the first year, while successfully maintaining sobriety.

I started projects with Raspberry Pi's, Server applications, Virtual machines, and busted my hump working as a roofer for the extra income I needed to maintain a marijuana dosing, which acts undoubtedly, as a medication for me. That year was helpful in maintaining sobriety, but let me say this: It was not enough.

I still felt as though I was missing something in my life, and decided my Raspberry Pi was only going to carry me so far.

I was a starting to get more serious about crypto at this time, and also thought blogging was something that would give me purpose.

The idea of working on a centralized blogging platform, while competing with already established bloggers with a much higher skill set, was not appealing at all, so I composed a google search, and started looking for an alternative method.

Steemit popped out at me like a slap in the face. Crypto + Blogging? Was this a dream come true?

Yes, it really was, and the hardest part of this process, was containing myself while waiting for Steemit to approve my sign up. I knew somehow, that this was what I was looking for, in every way, shape, and form. I just felt it.

The sign up was approved after a few days of waiting, and the transformation quickly started happening. I became obsessed with this platform, and I still am for the most part. It's a healthy obsession, so no worries here.

I met people who changed my life for the better. Philosophical minds who helped me through some extreme struggles. Struggles that I am now starting to free myself of. The light is not only visible at the end of the tunnel, I have one foot through the threshold.



source

I couldn't have done it without this community. The hardest part about this bear market for me, has been the exodus, and stress I see around here. I think we have an opportunity right now, and I choose to view this as an opportunity.

I feel, that we might be heading in the wrong direction by adopting negativity. So I thought of a way to spread positive feelings.

I love Steem so much, I'm going to give away 20 Steem,

RIGHT NOW!

Because I see it to be a positive way to keep people's morale high. Do you agree? Well of course you do. 😎

I am sure by now you are just itching to hear the rules, and how this is going to work. We all know futuremind likes to keep things simple and easy for everyone, so let's get to it.

  • The first 10 comments win!

  • Comments must be at least 10 words.

  • You can say whatever you want, and will be rewarded 2 Steem for your comment (by way of direct transfer from my account). I only hope that you will keep it positive and within context of community, and/or positive thoughts for the community, but you can literally say whatever you want.

  • If you have multiple accounts, please maintain integrity and do not claim more than once. This behavior takes from others.


That is it!
Let's stay positive!
Good day to you all Steemian's!



Get some good karma into your life, vote @good-karma for witness!

Steem witnesses
bjj27qo8l7.png


Please consider voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png



Sort:  

Just wanted to comment about addiction. You admitted to being one for numerous things.
My hubby is one of the statistics of the opioid crisis inflicting America. It started as a neck/back pain then surgery and his pain management doctor just kept writing prescriptions and more prescriptions.

I applaud you for your two years of sobriety!

Hubby is slowing weaning himself off the meds and it is an uphill battle. sad but true

Thank you for the kind words. The opiate epidemic is really awful, and I know many fellow Veterans who have been consumed by this because of being prescribed for pain. I will pray for your husband, and for the good fortune of your family.

Reward has been sent. Thank you for being part of this great community!

I will pray for your husband

Thank you! We work hard every day to combat this life-altering thing. And yes, I know of veterans too who suffer from this addiction. So sad how these people (anyone addicted to opiates) have to suffer from a doctor's willy-nilly and carefree doodling on a prescription pad.

Mask the problem... they don't try to fix it

Yes, it's so sad.

Mask the problem... they don't try to fix it

You are very wise. I have said this many times to psychiatrists who try to prescribe mental health medications. I have had so many adverse reactions to trying these concoctions, that I think I was no better off than when I was using illicit substances!

Psych meds are another completely different animal, but also something I have vowed to not use. As long as it's called "practicing medicine", I will remain skeptical.

I'm certainly not qualified to advise anyone in addiction how to recover, but I will say that marijuana is a Godsend for me, and many other's I've known who have successfully recovered from the grips of addiction.

but I will say that marijuana is a Godsend

Amen to that!

I had no idea you were in such a bad way. I think Steemit to you holds more importance than most as it gives you a sense of accomplishment. I am glad that you have lasted two years sober and that this is now working for you. It must be tough but keep fighting and just look forward.
I know you get passionate about things but just relax and let things happen. Don't overthink things and you will be fine. Keep Steeming as it is your medicine.

Thank you for the kind words cryptoandcoffee. Yes, Steem has been a saving grace for me in so many ways, and it indeed gives me a sense of purpose and accomplishment.

I do get passionate about things, and tend to overthink and let emotions get involved. You being a good friend have helped me in many ways! I will continue to work on this! You are appreciated!

Reward sent! Thank you for being a part of the Steem community!

Yea brother @futuremind, you have been taking your part to give your best for this great COMMUNITY. I love Steem too. I am happy to be with all steemians brotherhood. I wil stay here forever as long as my posting stuff Is still can to be delivered to this platform.

I Will keep Steem on even my reward just a small pinny. I spent 8 years on Facebook, and I got nothing, and I could hold stand for that long. I got nothing THERE but only bad girl on the comment box. Okey brother that is from me right now. I am always on Steem side. Have success always for all steemians. Thanks

Thank you for the kind words munawire!

I will stay forever too, as long as there is a Steem blockchain, with other passionate people, we will never leave!!!!

I think you have the right idea about what is valuable here!

Reward sent, thank you for being a part of the Steem community!

You are welcome brother. Thanks for the gift . Have succeed always for you.

Yes, sir, you are welcome for the gift, I wish for you to be blessed with success, prosperity, and happiness.

Glad to hear about ur sobriety man it's hard not everyone can overcome it.

It's certainly not easy, and at times it is so hard to not pick back up, especially when emotions are involved, but talking with others helps, and I am always willing to talk with people who may be struggling on discord, or right here on the chain if they wish.

Thanks for stopping by my friend. Reward has been sent.

That is amazing man! If you will receive the money I will find a way to use that to help other with my #godfatherproject
Cheers!

Hi robertoueti, helping others is a great use of this platform! I am happy to have visits from people who are so positive!

Reward has been sent. Thank you for being a part of the Steem community!

Thank you for you amazing content. Continue to do these lovely work man,
Cheers!

Yes sir! Cheers!

Congrats on your 2 years. I am also caught in awe and fascination by this block chain. I wish you continued success in fighting your personal battle with addiction.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is certainly awe inspiring!

Thank you for your kind wishes, and thank you for being a part of the Steem community.

Reward sent!

That's an amazing story, really inspiring. I wasn't sure about Steem at first but its grown on me. Steemit isn't everything though, I'm sure the community can survive whatever happens to it. I don't have any negative thoughts about the future, I'm sure it will be good.

Thank you for your kind words sharpshot. Yes, I also don't have any negative thoughts, but other's negative thoughts do have a way of becoming contagious and depressing sometimes, so I can only think to battle this with positive energy!

Thank you for being a part of the Steem community!
Reward sent!

Thanks for your generosity. I'll add you to my list of people I upvote. My vote isn't worth a lot now but hopefully it will help in the long term.

Thank you as well for this generous gesture! I look forward to our interactions in the future!


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @futuremind

We have planted already
4506.36 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 30855.89
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations on your upcoming 2 achievement @futuremind! I agree that this is an amazing platform to share ideas and experiences to help others in places all over the world. I can feel big things are to come and I am glad we are here to be on the ride!

Thank you for the kind words!

I too feel big things are on the way, and I am happy to share this ride with you!

Thank you for being a part of the Steem community.

Reward has been sent!

I how I make it in the ten to be rewarded. I am happy to hear you like the Raspberry Pi. I have 10 currently and have been a fan since 2012.

Raspberry Pi's are so cool! I learned how to install, customize, and operate software like Retropie, OSMC, Plex, Raspbian lite, and many more, as well as regulating voltages, creating wifi extenders, and many other cool things. I would recommend anyone who likes computers to experience what this amazing chip has to offer.

Thank you for being a part of the Steem community.

And congratulations for making it just in time! You were the last claimer for the giveaway! Your reward has been sent!

Thanks for the Steem. Will you post any of your Raspberry Pi project experiences?

Unfortunately, I didn't document any of my projects, and this is not good for two reasons.

  • I have to relearn quite a bit.
  • And I have nothing to show for it, other than how it helped me.

I do have plans for future projects with not only the RPI, but also with Linux systems in general, and I will certainly document the projects on the Steem blockchain when I begin!

I look forward to your posts. I need to do more posting of my project work (plus do more work...).

Thank you, I look forward to your future posts as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00