Getting Back to Into the Swing

in #esteemfilm5 years ago

Dear Daniel Craig,

Daniel Craig

I figured I’d get back to journaling. Life has been busy and I’ve been feeling the low level hum of stress and anxiety that comes for me with the pre-production of a film. Multiply it with the anxiety of delivering on (for me and those associated with the production) the promise of what was probably mine and Missy’s greatest script and well if I don’t journal I’m basically just asking for it with my disease.

Stress is the biggest threat to my stability. I realized long ago I could sit and churn out book after book and script after script, keep my appointments and maintain reasonable expectation of stability. That would be accepting and living with my limitations. But, then along came recovery and the realization I didn’t want to sit comfortably in a bubble safe from the big bad world. To do anything of note one must stretch and challenge one’s self.

 

I certainly don’t mean bite off more than you can chew. Though a feature film adaptation of mine and Missy struggle with my bipolar disorder would, on the face of it, appear to be that.

Use your tools, apply your knowledge learned through your life experiences.

I’m excited for Letters to Daniel. I’ve been waiting for a long time for production to start. There comes a time when you have to look at your goals in life and choose what to do and when to just go for it.

A lot of times I hear, I don’t have the time. I don’t buy that excuse. You’re not making it a priority. Dreams don’t just happen. You have to step out on faith, put action behind it, and grind like there’s no tomorrow.

The contract doesn’t magically happen. The distribution deal doesn’t just fall into your lap. Representation isn’t guaranteed. Neither is success.

Letters to Daniel up until now has been all about the promise of doing something great. Of something amazing being created. Now that it is all starting to come together it is bit overwhelming.

With 30 roles left to cast and a handful of locations to pin down things are slowly moving into place. A crew of 12 people doing double duty it’s all very promising.

Fortunately, I have some amazing people working behind the scenes to collaborate with and make Letters to Daniel happen. It keeps the stress and anxiety at a low hum and allows for me to get some sleep.

I want to do accomplish some big things in the coming year such as filming Letters to Daniel, secure theatrical distribution and achieve representation. Maybe even get on Daniel Craig’s radar with Letters to Daniel (finally). These are some very big things. Some people think I’m nuts for dreaming so big.

But what is life without big dreams. 19+ years ago being at this point in my journey seemed like it might never happen. But I kept dreaming, working hard at my recovery and my writing and here we are. I’m geared towards June.

Dreaming Big In Kentucky,

 

Amy McCorkle

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/getting-back-to-into-the-swing/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78