Where to begin

in #ethereum8 years ago

Lets say it all started about 2 years ago with my "evening routine" - not your typical evening routine, at the time it was smack in the middle of attempting to get my 1 year old daughter to sleep without the need of a parent ... the plan ? - well the plan was me just sitting in her room waiting till she fell asleep.  Typically it started with a good night kiss followed by massive iPhone internet reading.  I had my typical Flipboard routine tracking

Real Estate, Entrepreneurship and Startups, Cryptocurrency (I owned 5 bitcoin), Home Makeovers (HGTV BABY !), and my day job Cyber Security 

As I was shuffling around that evening an interesting article caught my eye ... it was about a 19 year old kid who had done a white paper on a new blockchain technology he called "Ethereum." He and his recently recruited founding group was going to kick off a crowdsale to fund their idea - I ended up spending the rest of the night deep into reading and trying to understand the concept (basically we both fell asleep in her room) - the next day I couldn't get it out of my head ... soooo many ideas ... new ways to solve problems.  For those that don't know about Ethereum (shouldn't be too many) its  distributed and decentralized code (computing power) that allows for smart applications to be built on top - consider it an improved version of bitcoin (if you don't know what bitcoin is I can't help you).  Net net ... I was hooked - I penciled in the crowdsale date and sent away my MONEY !!!  I was thinking internet 3.0 ... the next generation of technology for the world !!

At the time I was so inspired by it i couldn't help but start to talk about it with my other nerd friends - one in particular got the brunt of my blabber - He was an indian fellow who hadn't been in the states for too long and we happened to be commuting together since he lived close by.  Now he was a cheap bastard so although he listened I knew he would never invest ... but I needed him to invest otherwise  he wouldn't gain interest and want to talk about it ... so I offered him a deal.  "Ill put in $500 bucks and then you pay me back" - he said sure ....so I did -  I sent over $500, handed him the account to put in his info and password -  In return he got a pre-sale wallet filled with 1500 shares... and that was that.  A few months passed by and I noticed he never really gained interest - and I never got my money (cheap bastard) - I'm usually not the type of guy that keeps poking people asking for my money so eventually after some hints he handed over the wallet his comment "look I'm not as interested in this as you, keep the investment for yourself since I never really paid you anyway."

Well I did .... and about 1 year later the price had gone from $1 to $4 

then from $4.00- 7 .... 7 - 11 ... 11 - 16.... and ultimately landing around $21.00

I sent him a screenshot with a quick math equation 

Initial Investment $500 @.33 cents a share = around 1500 ETH

Current Price $21.00 ... 1500 = $31,500 DOLLARS !!!!

I was being a complete ass about it, you idiot, I even made the investment for you - I TOLD YOU ... you didn't believe me blah blah blah - I would sent him news articles about big companies getting in, the buzz the talk etc. 

So finally it was worth enough so I decided to move the pre-sale wallet into a real wallet - up to this point I had not even touched the Ethereum.  So I downloaded the application and loaded it up - it asked me to drag the pre-sale wallet into the application.  Then it prompted me ... "password" - shit !!! okay no problem, I'll ask him - well I did ..... "hey whats the password for the Ethereum wallet" ... his response "what password" - I pretty much crawled up into little ball and started crying .... 

Well the story gets better - I'm going to take a break here and see if you all found this interesting -if it gets any interest ill post part 2 !!!

Sort:  

Bеаutiful роst

Congratulations @havok! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69