You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto needs MORE Liquidity!

in #ethereum6 years ago

@hatu, great post.

I think neo's got enough attention already as far as being a prominent project is concerned. I think it will also grow in size, given a regional focus. I am not sure what is the right stage for it to also become a source of liquidity like btc or eth. I think blockchain techology will evolve in a way that regional players will only gain more regional dominance as govts also start backing local R&D in blockchain, because of which I think, NEO will only become more and more important. From what I have read, there are some very important ICOs coming to NEO and I have no doubt about it being a great project. What has prevented it from being a base currency to buy others I think is also it regional focus. Coinbase is where most people buy their first crypto using fiat, and it only trades bitcoin, eth, bch and ltc. For global acceptance as another entry tool to buy other cryptos, neo needs to be on coinbase, but i don't think it is even on conibase's radar. so regional exchanges have to make neo that. therefore, yes, it needs more attention from infra developers.

Mining should definitely start moving towards green energy. I actually recently read a very interesting post on steemit, that had mentioned that energy consumption of bitcoin is quite exaggerated. It had pointed out that the first article that talked about bitcoin's energy usage used incorrect assumptions and hence the whole outcome was wrong. Nonetheless, if there is all this negative talk about it, bitcoin miners should start sourcing from green energy providers. better for the planet, better for expansion of green energy and less negative noise.

From what you have mentioned, if they achieve half of what they are trying to do, spotcoin to me will be a success. there are ways to access otc liquidity in traditional markets. there is no reason why everyone should have access to that liquidity. it just better for the overall market. and may be i am wrong about this, but right now, for me, getting originally mined coins is only possible through coinbase. there should be more players doing that, as it ends monopoly of coinbase - better fees, reduced counterparty risk for investors. what spotcoin is trying to do, should see enough demand, but then there is very threat of new entrants as far as their business model is concerned. I am sure they should see tremendous initial success, but it won't be long before others come and build similar companies. @hatu

Sort:  

I feel NEO's spotlight has been disrupted. Too many new blockchains. Community interest has been diverted all over. Hard to keep up with the growth in the amount of projects popping up every week.

I believe green energy is a must, not just for crypto. I know a lot of people tend to not care but we need to prioritize it. Mining is in its early stages so we should place positive seeds.

As for Spotcoin, I didn't even consider the fact that this disrupts Coinbase's monopoly. Wow, very good point!

I feel NEO's spotlight has been disrupted.

I completely agree, there versions of ethereum popping everywhere and then there are improvements. I can definitely think of ICX, ADA, and EOS in this regard, but I am sure other regional smart contract platforms are there. I had heard of one from India as well. can't remember the name. I do think, however, that in the long run, if and when blockchain becomes more mainstreams, govt will focus on R&D in this space and they may choose regional projects.

Mining is in its early stages so we should place positive seeds.

Yeah, agreed about the need for green energy. Even if mining isn't energy intensive now, it may be in the future. But may be then, a lot of mining will become more concentrated. Anyway, there is no reason to not go green.

On coinbase, when I started to invest, i wanted to find how can i invest in bitcoin using fiat. The answers all pointed to coinbase. may be one or two more exchanges, but i think miners only directly sell bitcoin to coinbase. again, not 100% sure about this. but coinbase does seem to have a monopoly, that is there to be challenged.

Very strong point there: Government support will be instrumental in the success of regional projects. NEO is likely to get the regional support it needs.

Again, if Spotcoin can disrupt a monopoly, that'd be great. It makes the industry more competitive. Established exchanges like Coinbase charge too high imo; giving them a competitive nudge would be good for everyone.

Yeah, i hate coinbase fees. I was shocked when i first learnt about the % they take off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71