You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Supporting Organizations Can Be Hard In A World That's Not Black & White

in #ethics6 years ago

Interesting post. This is something I wrestle with every time I cross the street to avoid someone collecting for Greenpeace or one of the big Irish charities like Gorta or Trocaire.
Charity is good....I want to give....surely the good outweighs the bad .....BUT what about the plush offices in landmark buildings in only the best parts of town, and then all the stuff you mentioned CEO salary, corporate endorsements etc?
So, to assuage my conscience, all of my charity goes to organisations working at the coalface here in the city, principally homeless and animal rescue charities.
I know, if everyone thought like that Amnesty and the like would be buggered.

Sort:  

I tend to end up giving too, but I always wonder what part of what I'm giving will end up supporting the real cause. Of course, you can't have an organization without any overhead and it's obvious that the people who made this their career need to support themselves too. To make it even more difficult, charity fraud is still not uncommon here in Bulgaria, so it always requires double-checking unless you know the organization. And any organization is capable of a bad decision here or there, but this doesn't mean they are not worth supporting. Gray areas everywhere...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66568.01
ETH 3070.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68